A New Poem That Wasn’t A Poem But Is Now!

Okay, you can blame the following on Bindo, who more or less gave me no option but to retool this comment I left on his blog in response to a brilliant poem he wrote about religion, racism, optional days off for piety on the weekend, you know all the good stuff.  Anyway, I’ve entitled it appropriately enough…

Commentary On God

Here’s a scary thought to ponder

God is You

me

the guy next door

the girl next door to him

the terrorist making bombs in the garage with online purchased components

the junkie shooting up in the motel 8

the hooker with only two good years left in her pondering a bleak future on social assistance and phone sex revenue

the gay activist attending services with people he knows think he is an abomination but that he is supposed to love unconditionally

the child hiding more than just bruises left by a nasty selfish adult who is now drunk in some skank watering hole

the soldier waking up with PTSD nightmares so horrific he can’t leave the house

the old lady eating dog food and wondering what happened to her life when she was young and could dance

the ghetto son who just pumped some lead into his neighbor who is only twelve, because he was amped up on meth and he looked at him the wrong way

the priest defiling trusting children, knowing the bishop will protect him because he is doing it too

the survivor of the camps looking at her tattoo, reluctantly accepting that nothing has changed only the players in the never ending game of hate and power

the surgeon who was a bit high on coke and killed someone’s mother in the O.R. and is shitting himself until it blows over (pun intended)

the high school girl puking out a few non existent pounds of cellulite before her first period history class

the high lost boy in tenth grade, with a rifle in his locker with some grim plans for using it

the tinker, tailor, soldier and sailor and anyone else you can name.

Perhaps one day we can collectively dispense with this bullshit need we have to create an external deity to shoulder the blame for everything we do and then finally, although it’s a few thousand years overdue,  take some damn responsibility for each other and ourselves.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

40 thoughts on “A New Poem That Wasn’t A Poem But Is Now!”

    1. Thanks bluebee, but it’s a sad truth just the same isn’t it? Thank you for dropping in and leaving your words, I hope you come back again! 🙂

  1. lol, both of them, it’s quite a strange question, like ” do you prefer a purple sky or a green sky?”
    let’s say i like brad pitt saying “is there anyone else?” in the iliad, but i also love the d-day on ithaca^^

    1. That Monsieur Chenot was the perfect answer but I must add, if I start seeing a green sky, it means either my eyes are going or my sanity, both whom I would miss greatly were I to lose them! lol A purple sky I can live with. :0 d-day on ithaca eh? As for Brad Pitt, I just can’t get past the fact that he is as dumb as a bag of rocks, although I suppose when one is an actor, intellect could be a detriment. 😉

  2. Constantine P. Cavafy

    Ithaca (1911)

    When you set out on your journey to Ithaca,

    pray that the road is long,

    full of adventure, full of knowledge.

    The Lestrygonians and the Cyclops,

    the angry Poseidon — do not fear them:

    You will never find such as these on your path,

    if your thoughts remain lofty, if a fine

    emotion touches your spirit and your body.

    The Lestrygonians and the Cyclops,

    the fierce Poseidon you will never encounter,

    if you do not carry them within your soul,

    if your soul does not set them up before you.

    Pray that the road is long.

    That the summer mornings are many, when,

    with such pleasure, with such joy

    you will enter ports seen for the first time;

    stop at Phoenician markets,

    and purchase fine merchandise,

    mother-of-pearl and coral, amber and ebony,

    and sensual perfumes of all kinds,

    as many sensual perfumes as you can;

    visit many Egyptian cities,

    to learn and learn from scholars.

    Always keep Ithaca in your mind.

    To arrive there is your ultimate goal.

    But do not hurry the voyage at all.

    It is better to let it last for many years;

    and to anchor at the island when you are old,

    rich with all you have gained on the way,

    not expecting that Ithaca will offer you riches.

    Ithaca has given you the beautiful voyage.

    Without her you would have never set out on the road.

    She has nothing more to give you.

    And if you find her poor, Ithaca has not deceived you.

    Wise as you have become, with so much experience,

    you must already have understood what Ithacas mean.

    1. Life is but a journey and it’s all a state of mind right Gilles? About ten years ago I would have thought this was a load of bullshit, but now, I know better, oh do I ever! Interesting they use this poem to ‘sell’ a product. The pure part of me is disgusted by the capitalistic prostitution of art to increase profits by targeting what they perceive as a more educated and therefore more wealthy demographic, but the starving impoverished writer in me wishes they would use one of my poems to ‘sell’ a product and fatten my own bank account with some of that capitalistic prostitution of art. 😉 Yeah, I’m shallow sometimes Gilles! lol

    1. Thanks Gabrielle 🙂 You know, if you guys only knew the sheer volume of stuff that comes out of my yap during the course of a day. 😉 Yeah, I like to talk…no I LOVE to talk. hehehe hugs

      1. another one who likes to talk (for rimbaud fans^^),; by the way, i live 40 kms far from charleville (but now here rimbaud is a consumption product, too sad^^)

      2. Well Gilles, you have got WONDERFUL taste in music. I LOVE PATTI SMITH. I also LOVE to talk lol and LOVE Rimbaud and of course, what you say about the commercialization of one of the most important poet to grace the earth, is true. I have felt for a long time that it is the goal of those in power to use the method of marketing artists who promote free thinking and perhaps anarchy, as a way to diminish their message. Such is the case with Rimbaud. You are very lucky to be so close to the home of such a great poet, but then, you are a wonderful poet in your own right Monsieur Chenot. 🙂

  3. Ya know Bryan, I’m going to start saving my comments to you guys and posting them as poetry, that way I can kill three birds with one stone: leave a comment, write a poem and promote the blog on which it was left. What do you think? 😉

  4. of course you rock, rocking chair or not. just love this (and the fact that you love Rimbaud) Especially love the opening and the combination of lines after “the high school girl” what a terrific way to end!

    1. Ah, you love Rimbaud too Jessie! I have three I adore above all others: Rimbaud, Plath and Wilde. Hmm, I guess that says a lot about my mind eh? lol Thank you for liking this and for noticing what I was up to with the lines at the end. 🙂

    1. ENJOY THE MIDNIGHT RAMBLE

      Everyday
      Like a Ragnarök day
      When lightning strikes
      In a jewelry flow

      Everyday
      Like jericho day
      When walls are dancing
      In arms of fire

      Is there another day
      Another mood
      Or another place to be
      When climax is in spring

      1. Merci Gilles and I will return a poem for a poem. The middle stanza is my favourite, especially: When the walls are dancing/In arms of fire. 🙂

  5. you don’t even need a rocking chair^^, the lotus position is enough to be seated, rocking chair is just an intermediate step on the slower and slower way; you can also be struck by lightning, it’s quite faster to stop the move of your eyelash ^^

    1. Well, I’m relieved to hear that Gilles, because I hate the rocking chair noises anyway! 😉 Lotus eh? I agree about the slower way and being struck by lightning is a once in a lifetime event, is it not? 😉 Stopping eyelashes moving, well, once that happens, it can be astounding to see what there is when everything is still, quite remarkable. 🙂

    1. Rimbaud…he is someone I understand. Perfectly. He crawled into the the very narrow dark part of this life and took a good look around, came out, discussed it, went back in, took a better look around, came out and let it transform him. 😉 I like the video of Mort, I like his voice, the lyrics and the intonation of certain phrases. Thank you for once again inspiring my ears to hear better things! 🙂 My rocking chair is always making noises that interfere with my concerted efforts to disregard the daily events on this planet, tell me, does yours also make these noises, or have you got a better rocking chair my good friend Gilles? 😉

  6. find a rocking chair and get seated^^, there’s a famous poem from rimbaud called “the seated” ^^, even mort shuman is talking about those survivors who are seated at brighton beach ^^

    Brooklyn by the sea
    Dimanche après-midi
    C’est une vieille promenade
    Sur de longues planches malades
    C’est la mer noire en petit
    Tout le long de Brighton Beach
    À brooklyn by the sea.

    Brooklyn by the sea
    Les vieillards assis
    Se racontent les histoires
    Les défaites et les vieilles gloires
    Les exodes et les fusils
    Quand ils étaient loin d’ici
    De Brooklyn by the sea

    Si tu viens ici
    Saute dans un taxi
    Dis au driver “Brighton Beach
    Brooklyn by the sea”

    C’est loin de la ville
    C’est comme un pays
    Que New-York secoue et regarde
    Comme ses rires ou ses lézardes
    Où tous ses rêves ont vieilli
    Tout le long de Brighton Beach
    À Broolin by the sea.

    Si tu viens ici
    Saute dans un taxi
    Dis au driver “Brighton Beach
    Brooklin by the sea”

    Si tu viens ici
    Saute dans un taxi
    Dis au driver “Brighton Beach
    Brooklin by the sea”

    Brooklyn by the sea
    Raconte sa vie
    For a spartacus prigard
    Yes my people wonderbar
    Les survivants sont assis
    Tout le long de Brighton Beach
    À Brooklyn by the sea

    Si tu viens ici
    Saute dans un taxi
    Cette race va disparaître
    Cours et tu verras peut-être
    Un dimanche après-midi
    Brooklyn by the sea

  7. “Perhaps one day we can collectively dispense with this bullshit need we have to create an external deity to shoulder the blame for everything we do and then finally, although it’s a few thousand years overdue, take some damn responsibility for each other and ourselves.”

    lol, better read with attention: “help yourself and the sky will help you” (christianity), “begin by your own person” (islam), aso…….the same is written everywhere ^^.

    come back in some thousands years, all will be different but nothing will have changed (as nothing has changed before, even if all looks different ^^), so..

    1. HA! I KNEW you were a cynic Gilles 😉 lolol Of course you are correct when you say nothing has changed and to argue with that fact would be foolish and I’m a cynic as well but then there are those two things that sit there making noises in the background of my soul, those two thing we humans are capable of that are in direct opposition to the idea that it won’t change and those two things are love and courage. There are no absolutes in anything Gilles, and exceptions always meddle with the rules. This world may be round in shape but that doesn’t mean we are or have to be destined to walking around in a circle eternally. 🙂

    1. Thanks B, you are one in a million my friend and okay, I can say, I can admit it…you were rrr..rrr.right. lolol Did I just say someone other than me was right? Someone’s god please help me hehehehehe

      1. Val, since I am God, I have come to save you, dear. This God doesn’t like bright colors or sunlight so it’s dark rooms and silence and staring at blankets for hours for us.

      2. Well, it took you long enough to get over here to my blog ML! I was beginning to think I had pox or something 😉 Now, as it happens, I’m in agreement with you, one cannot stray from the comfort of dark rooms, silence and blankets for long, it just ain’t good for a soul. hugs. You have proven something I’ve known for a long time too…God is a WOMAN with luminous hair! 🙂

      3. LOL ML my dear, it’s your waywardness I like, well that and your anguish. I hate to be anguished all by myself! 😉 hugs

  8. This is the heart of poetic expression. The flow is rhythmic and so undiluted by spin that truth begins to clutch the soul and one feels the sorrow, masqued by empathy, as light is shed upon the state of socail bizarre that we live in. Yet it is, what it is and your words cut like razors through the smeared shit we cover our eyes with. Well done. Your friend:
    1markt

    1. The world is basically a corrupt cesspit Marcus but it is dotted with enough good souls to keep it tolerable and to give hope that it can get better. The way I see it, if one person can be good, then ten people can be good and that means perhaps 100 people can be good. Thank you for reading this and the fact that it was originally just a comment I left on a friend’s blog, makes it a very happy surprise for me as a writer. 🙂

  9. I love this, Val. It has that Whitman-esque cataloging quality to it. As I think you know, I believe in that external deity, but I also believe that god is in each and every one of us. So, for me, this poem is powerfully true.

    1. Thank you Tel 🙂 There is one passage from the old testament that has always intrigued me: God made man in his image. If God made man in his image, then god is either a man or man is a god, the two must be an exact reflection of each other if it is an image. 😉

      1. I agree with your assessment, but would only argue/add that “man” and “woman” are people-made terms. Aside from physical differences, perhaps there are no other and maybe we’re just missing the real god-image by wanting to put a label on everything and then put each thing into a silo? I know, now I’ve fallen off into existentialistic theory, but….

        I also don’t know how literal we can take the Bible, especially Genesis.

      2. I see what you are saying Tel and I agree that labels are limiting and often take us down an entirely unrelated track, but existentialist or not you are correct. The bible, to me, is a history of how we were then, the basis or root of all our current biases, bigotry and divisions and I feel we are supposed to use it as a guide to see how much we have changed, as all things in nature do and that we must move on and perhaps write another bible, one that will reflect where we are now. Could it be, that the internet will be that book I wonder? 😉 There may be a Tel and a Val having this very discussion 2000 years in the future, about the nature of the internet, artificial intelligence and god. Sobering thought eh?

Leave a Reply

