Interloper

Walking in and out of my mind

you leave no footprints

or evidence of the looting I suspect

because to discover what you took

I would  need to know what I had in the first place

that you were lacking

and whether I wanted to give it

that is

if you had even bothered to ask

Just a thought

I looked at

loved

then puckered up my lips and blew away with the rest of the dandelion wishes that never come true no matter how innocent the heart or gentle the soul.  It is an activity that amuses me when the stars don’t shine and the moon hangs crooked from a tilted sky.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

11 thoughts on “Interloper”

  1. Oh I loved this, and hearing you reading it was the icing on the cake!

    Your writing is wonderful and the actual subject is so thought provoking too!

    “because to discover what you took

    I would need to know what I had in the first place”

    1. Thank you Singer, but I apologize for the snowy background noise on that podcast. I’m going to do another one with a better mic, mine got some moisture inside and I think this was the culprit. Nevertheless, thank you for listening braving the listening to the end and liking it. Those two lines you’ve isolated from the piece, are actually the premise around which I built the poem! I had an ‘experience’ and this was more or less the feeling I have about it.

    1. Thanks Ollin, I love it that you love it. I hope everything is going well in your part of the globe with both life and writing. 🙂

    1. Thank you B, yeah, those lions are kinda endearing. 🙂 Now, maybe I’ll move on to another critter…how about an Elephant? I’ve been toying with the idea of doing an animal metaphor for each poem until I exhaust the choices afforded my by the natural world, or I get bored, whichever comes first. Yeah, I Know, I’ll get bored first. 😉

    1. Then consider it done Cindy, I’ll podcast it later this evening when my work is done and my day belongs to me again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

