In the Stillness of the Moment…

I still see you Dave, as you shift and merge into the notes you play, becoming the sound itself.

David James Marks, October 30th 1960-July 17th 1999

He reached for his guitar and it become a part of him, moulded to his shape, an able extension of his large dexterous hands. He sank back into the cushions and began to strum. It was insistant and hypnotic like a heartbeat, and it soothed him. His eyes took on that familiar far away look, as the music wrapped around him and entered him through his pores. She watched, as the haunting melody became his breathing, and she felt it pick him up and transport him to somewhere that she had never been.

The above piece was written by a very talented writer Singer, who was generous and kind to allow me the privilege of using it here, in memory of Dave.  Thank you good friend.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “In the Stillness of the Moment…”

    1. Thank you Cindy, for appreciating Dave. Whatever I am or have, it wasn’t enough to keep him from killing himself. I think that no one can win the competition with death, when someone wants to embrace it. 😦

  1. Val, I found myself thinking about you a lot last night. Of course, I don’t really, really know you, but the things you have shared made me think about you while watching a movie last night. The movie, Frozen River, is about a woman who lives on the Canadian-American border who falls down on her luck and enters the human trafficking business. She works the Mohawk Nation and ends up spending some time on the res. I know, I know. 🙂 Your story and experiences are far from identical , let alone even close, so maybe it was the character’s dark red hair and time spent on both sides of the border that made me think of you. 😉 What I DO know about you, though, tells me you would love this movie as much as I did. I hope you’ll check it out. There’s a great trailer for Frozen River on You Tube and it’s available on Netflix. If you watch it, let me know what you think…

    1. I’ve been to that rez Tel, a few times. Of course, the rez I was on was at the other end the country but seen one seen them all applies here. I think I will take you up on your movie recommendation and watch it, because even though the reason I was on the rez was very different than the character you mention, I’ll bet some experiences are paralell to mine. By the way, have I told you lately what a thoughtful and intelligent friend you are? Well, there, I just did. I have no idea why I’ve connected with such brilliant people as those who read my words, but I’m deeply grateful for you all. HUGS

Leave a Reply

