The Leak

It began with a leak

a trickle of words and phrases

whispers of evil escapades uncovered

a complete exposure

full disclosure

~~

It began with a leak

the scarlet expression of wounding

hatred inscribed in blood on your yellow dress

a child at play

a dying day

~~

It began with a leak

salt water pooling in corners

teardrops traversing cheeks for the loss of you

the politics of candy and a gun

leave no safe place to play and run

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “The Leak”

    1. Thank you B, you know me, I look for the misery and unfortunately, I never have far to look, it’s just that this time it isn’t in my own head and heart. πŸ™‚

  1. Strongly written verse from you here,Val. The sad thing is, every soldier who dies is someone’s child. As the war goes on, every story I hear sounds worse than the last. I love the artwork with this,too….like drops in an ocean..

    1. Exactly Lisa, all are children and the waste is unfathomable. There are many military people in my family history and my older half brother was in Viet Nam. The second world war was the last war that had any true enemy in Nazi Germany. Since that time, everything else has been one greed inspired invasion after another, a grinding, devouring killing monster that we are going to have to destroy or it will destroy us. It starts with the family, specifically children and it has to be a worldwide effort. Fix the family and you fix the world. Of course, I’m too cynical to actually believe this is possible. 😦

  2. powerful stuff, Val. The repetition of It began with a leak is especially notable. Whenever I see a powerful line like that, I think – have you tried a villanelle?

    1. I’ve never tried a villanelle Jessie, but I will spend some time on this and try to turn it into one. I completely see why you saw a villanelle with that first line and my subsequent rhyming with the final two lines. A while back I was trying out different poetic forms but lost myself in other things and this is a reminder to try again. Oh yeah, I have something to tell ya…YOU ARE ONE FREAKING AWESOME HUMAN BEING JESSIE CARTY. I am of course referring to your very flattering appreciation and nomination of a snapshot of my childhood. I adore you sweetie, absolutely. hugs hugs hugs πŸ™‚

      1. Whenever I feel stuck, I turn to poetic forms. It really can make you think in a totally new way! You are too kind. I particularly like that “Cockroaches and White Bread” poem because it does something that I love about poetry: it tells a story I’ve never managed to tell. I’ve tried multiple times to write a poem about this great babysitter I had who lived in the projects, which mean she had to contend with a lot of cockroaches even though she kept a clean house. I feel like there is something in your poem that touches on that even though it isn’t anywhere near the same story!

Leave a Reply

