Sleeper

Who

What

Where

Why

Tell the truth

now don’t you lie

just sink your teeth in nice and deep

and let the blood of angels seep

while you and I fall fast asleep

you’ll hear the devil’s laugh and creep

When you decide to leave

the darkness where you dwell

You’ll learn there is nothing to believe

and nothing left to sell

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “Sleeper”

    1. Yep, I cherish my dark void of despair and I like to think of it as my eleventh toe or third ear: a part of my overall persona. šŸ˜‰ Also, I am that cynical…oh yeah. I’m happy it brought back an old dream Gabrielle, and of course, they are biting each other. Nothing like some pain to seal the deal. LOL

  1. love it val, love the ending, especially with the implications of nothing left to sell.
    love the tone of it and the sound it made when i read it loud.

    (but i don’t like “shell” – sorry, it reads strange to my tongue, perhaps it was more “musical” without the rhyme)

    1. I agree Dhyan, it didn’t feel right to me either…let me go back in and try again. You input is priceless sometimes my friend. šŸ™‚

      1. sometimes šŸ˜‰
        you are allowed to go back ( šŸ™‚ )

        O ya, that botox thing ? everything you said? spot on.
        so much that i enjoy to lay my eyes on a beautiful women (not so young or old – some of you age so beautifully it makes me wonder about all that advertisement/film thing – they really miss out on what is beauty. glad that god didn’t). back to story. botoxed, surged and overly make up woman are just an insult, not only to women and womanhood but to all humanity. and if you would have been a believer i would say to G-D too. šŸ˜‰

        hey – you got three smilies there
        šŸ™‚
        four

  2. good poems, Val – our lives, either connected to everything or to nothing – there’s more, i think i get what you mean — your poems reflect strong reactions šŸ™‚

    wishes,
    devika

    1. Thank you Devika šŸ™‚ You understood this exactly as I meant it. I’m not a tepid person and for me, it’s either hot or cold, therefore I suppose my poetry reflects that emotional position. I love how you notice things like that. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

