The Ring

I felt its dark emptiness

a prolonged taunt calling me out

bells ringing, blow to the heart stinging

the pugilist shakes a battered fist at the moon

convinced this time triumph will return

shadows from the past get the back up

smokey movers dance with delight

too many times I’ve taken the dive

winded and wounded limping from sight

vexation fills the room as day turns to night

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

17 thoughts on “The Ring”

  1. Good one Val. Pugilist is one of my favourite words and I love a poem with boxing references – I’ve been working on an off on one for about a year now – maybe one day it will be finished. I love this bit:

    ‘too many times I’ve taken the dive
    winded and wounded limping from sight’

    and I love the title!

    Here is a line from one of my earlier poem (belief system) which I think you will relate to:

    ‘She knows not to trust
    to trust is to spar with sharks when it’s cut time.’

    1. When you finish that novel, I HAVE to read it. 🙂 Now, about Belief System…utterly brilliant lines. Could I trouble you to repost the rest on your blog? Those two lines sum me up quite accurately and sister, you see right on through me 🙂 I’ve no hidden depths Gabrielle, which is why I’ve found myself knee deep in bullshit too many times. Now that I no longer have that trust thing to consider, I’m a fully liberated woman. hugs

      1. I read it and it made my eyes sting. You are one helluva poet Ms. Gabrielle Bryden, one helluva poet. I’m going back to read it again. Much love to you hugs 🙂

  2. i will try, but be kind with me, i’m quite a lazy translator (and a pityful computer user, i don’t even know – i think i don’t want to know – how to use google translator^^)

    1. You know what Gilles? I do like your very sharp wit. :0 I will have you know, I am always kind...except when I’m not! Luckily, that happens rarely and I can’t imagine you inspiring such behavior in me. You made me smile today Gilles and for that I send a hug to you…google would tranlsate that as: le hug from Val. 😉

  3. “..I understand what motivates men, as I’m sure all women do..” you’re too optimistic ^^ (except if you write it like that : “i understand what motivates males, as i’m sure all females do…”; in any other case, only shahrzad is able to know what motivates man…and for shahrzad to be alive, all other women shall die…don’t see any offense here)
    in french, shahrzad’s name is shéhérazade, but i don’t know her english name, sry. shahrzad is her persian name.

    1. Bonjour Gilles, it’s wonderful to see you again. You have made an interesting suggestion here, but perhaps our dear Shéhérazade does indeed live and men like the king are lost in the story. 😉 You never know, she may inhabit the bodies of every wise woman a man/male/gentleman greets. You see, this is her disguise, and it is perfect because men look for an ideal, a phantom and this works to her advantage. As a novelist and a woman, I appreciate the finer points of her nature to tell a good story. I enjoyed your words very much Gilles and I look forward to your commentary on all I create here. 🙂

    1. Thank you CindyP 🙂 It makes me happy as both a writer and a woman that you felt the meaning of the words I placed on this virtual page. My fiction and poetry is for everyone, but the honest truth is that I write from the perspective of a woman in what is essentially a man’s world and therefore my work focused on the sisters who read my work. I understand what motivates men, as I’m sure all women do,but what really drives me to write, are my womanly experiences and the ultimate sharing of them with other women. Most of what I post here are lessons I’ve already learned along my path because it is in our connecting, our communicating that we women shine. We know the value of sharing the load and one word of encouragement from another woman is worth ten from a man. Of course, the man I reference in this poem is Dave, the husband I mentioned on your blog regarding the spider dreams. I do hope you keep visiting me, you bring the good vibes with you every time. hugs

    1. I agree Jessie and just because you liked it, I’m going to use it as the subject and title of my next poem. I think I like using the boxing reference because the sport was a part of my childhood. My mother’s brother was a professional boxer (big surprise there lol) and we never missed watching a match and I was versed in the history and athletic art of pugilism quite young. Needless to say, Ma had a mean right hook. 🙂

  4. thanks Val…and poems most of the time are as you say are about overcoming emotions, and in that way writing is always postive and hopefu- i think the reader in me always need a hopeful end…thats the reason i converse, when poems speak, and sometimes have to doubt if i’m going overboard 🙂

    thanks once again, my dear 🙂

    wishes,
    devika

  5. Enjoyable poem, Val…too much involvement can be a tiring place, alternating between love and hate, between care and disregard …but just stepping back to see, helps one appreciate life with love — and its joyful — there no vexation, day or night,

    that’s my reading of passing the ring…- slightly off the track from your poem…but hope you don’t mind 🙂

    wishes,
    devika

    1. Thank you Devika, and you were more or less accurate regarding the meaning. I was writing about a situation I was in a long time ago with a man. He passed away eleven years ago and his upcoming birthday reminded of some important things about myself and the way I relate and allow others to relate to me. I feel the gift he gave me, was the realization of patterns I keep repeating, but which are mostly behind me now. I wanted this to be a hopeful poem about growing up and out of controlling and stifling situations. I always love your insightful remarks and visits my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

