Season of Ill Repute

She is standing on her usual corner

wantonly reaching, swaying and strutting for attention

into the chill evening she dances when the wind blows

shamelessly stripping herself of her eden leaves

a nakedย silhouette against the bordello red sunset

the desolate reminder of the cold and merciless winds of her private winter

that will eventually blow and break her in the middle

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

22 thoughts on “Season of Ill Repute”

    1. Thank you Evelyn! Those damn Eden leaves come off too easily sometimes I think and therein lies disaster every damn time.

  1. LOL Bryan, I know just what you’re talking about. There is a bad Dutch Elm std going around over here. It’s those promiscuous coniferous causing all the problems. Keeps the tree surgeons busy. hehehe

  2. Why thank you Bryan dahling! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let me tell ya Bryan, there are a lot things going on with plants that would make you gasp. lol

  3. trees that are like aging prostitutes or aging prostitutes who are like trees

    I want the SUMMER dammit! Okay, now that I’ve vented I can ease into a poem about pumpkins and evil spirits marauding the earth in search of spiritual vexation and all things BOO! I do love the eve of all hallows hehehe

    hey, that is a wonderful poem

    (sorry got stuck there ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. LOL, so, you like my tags huh Dhyan? I think I’m going to have a tag day once a month, where I make a poem from the tags of each post. Wait until you see the tags for the next one! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. “hate to see trees naked” — okay well in an autumn i don’t mind…because i know spring will be back on them…and sometimes admire the elegant and ineresting forms ๐Ÿ™‚

    But the dying trees — it really touches somewhere hard, though some i’ve felt like extended hands of the old raised to the skies seeking mercy (from the merciless world)….actually it all depends on the mood ๐Ÿ™‚

    wishes,
    devika

    1. The one tree that broke my heart when it finally died and fell Devika, was the tree Anne Frank used to view from her window in the annex. As for other trees, I’ve cut them down myself, with a chainsaw and an axe, so I have a special reverence for them as fuel that gives warmth. I’m so happy to see you here again and hugs to you on this fall day my dear.

  5. i hate the word “fall” and hate to see trees naked…(though never seen trees as prostitutes, as your tag says ๐Ÿ™‚

    But i love autumn for its colours…I wish i were in some real cold climes to see the beauty of autumn and to feel snow…here, it doesn’t go below 10 C for over two weeks….I can’t tolerate the summer here…baked in the range of 40-45/7C.

    all said, fine poem, Val (given the background ๐Ÿ™‚

    wishes,
    devika

    1. I could live in 100 degree temperatures all year long. When the sun disappears, so does my happiness. You have no idea Devika how I long for the climate you get to enjoy. Thank you for appreciating my poem, tree prostitutes and all ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. just to clarify, Val — the 100 you are talking of enjoying I guess is degree F, we follow
        Degree Celcius mostly-

        100C is boling point of water at 212F – My lady I won’t survive…But i can survive 0C Or 32F or below that
        for a few weeks even ๐Ÿ™‚

        wishes,
        devika

      1. I thought I saw your shadow a few times in here Brad. Once by the blog roll and another time by the blog stats. As long as you keep visiting I’m happy as a clam my dear. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Just seems like yesterday that you and other bloggers up North were talking about the beginning of Spring. A wonderful poem Val – unique and desolate. I can feel the winds blowing in this one. I can also visualise you writing this one and if will alone c0uld change the seasons, I am sure you would succeed ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Gabrielle, we really only have three season here in Newfoundland: not quite winter, almost winter and winter, with each punctuated by a dreary drizzle that could crush the soul of any optimist. Time to grin and bear it I guess. Thank you for liking my poem and your sympathy hugs

  7. Perfect, Val. I can see you wrinkling your nose in complete and utter distaste as you write this. The nerve of some seasons! This is such a creative take on a subject that is so subject to cliche (how do I make the accent over the e LOL???)

    And your tags–I am laughing out loud. I do think you live in the wrong climate my friend:)

    1. Well Danielle, my friend with the French name, first you must click on zee keyboard icon at the bottom of your screen and zen you must click zee French language option and zen you must type zee letters c l i c h and zen when you get to zee last letter e you leave zee e alone and click the question mark key instead like zis: clichรฉ and you will have the correct accent in the right place on zee E hugs Thank you for getting a smile and a chuckle from my tags, that was my full intent and it makes me smile.

      1. Dahling, I think zee instructions are, how do you say, too confusing for moi, zit has been a long day, and so my clich-AY is going to have to stay a CLICHE. Et voila. zit is done. Merci beaucoup mon amie…pardonAY la Francais:)

        Seriously, you have me laughing out loud…thanks Val, I needed it!

Leave a Reply

