I Was Going Through My Files and…

Look! Β I found some lovely photographs I took not long ago and thought I might feed your eyes today in lieu of a poem. Today Photos, tomorrow a poem!

I think a very broken hearted frog must have left his teardrop on this leaf before he hopped home to the next lily pond. Nothing like the image of a grief stricken amphibian to get me itching to push the button.
I wasn't gonna tell you guys this, but sometimes when my daughter and I go for a walk around our neighborhood, the sky catches fire. Eventually the darkness puts it out before the whole street ignites, but sometimes it's a close call. πŸ˜‰

Ooh! Ah! Someone upstairs is messing around with the paints again. πŸ˜‰
When we don't have fog, we get this! A fair exchange for six months of freezing your arse off don't ya think?
Okay, I'll stop with the sky photos, lest you think I'm on some kind of sunset crack and need rehab, which may be true, but I LIKE IT and papa wants me to go to rehab but I say NO NO NO! πŸ˜‰
There is this red house, see, and this red tree see and I couldn't resist it, see lol like the colours and the way the deep rich almost indigo leaves contrasted with the bright red siding on the house.
There is a lovely old church around the bay and this is a photo through the glass door. The sun was going down, which provided the perfect reflective properties needed to catch the trees behind me. The windowed doors inside make it all look like an illusion. I never manipulate the photos I take, therefore, when natural situations arise, I feel very lucky to witness them and share them with you. πŸ™‚
The same church, just before the shot above. Doesn't it look austere, like some god is gonna shout "Hey! Whaddya think yer doin' with that camera?" Yeah, I have god issues. LOTS OF GOD ISSUES. πŸ˜‰
The same church, a photo of a window through window. If the eyes are the windows to the soul, then what are the windows to the windows of the windows? Hmm? Just tell me that will ya? πŸ˜‰
Yes, the steps to god knows where. One day I will climb them and see what is at the top. Probably another damn set of stairs, if I know my luck. :0
Some wild raspberries near those stairs. Ah, there is that lovely colour red again. I LOVE the colour red.
Aw, ain't it purty on this island. This is just a random house on the side of the road. Yes, it's true, I get to look at this anytime I want. πŸ˜‰ Now you do too.
Okay, this cloud creeped me out. It looks like it could be a snow capped mountain but it could also be a poisonous gas bubble from an alien spacecraft coming to take over earth and kill us all...Nah, it's just a cloud...rrright? πŸ˜‰ hehe, yeah it's a cloud.
Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “I Was Going Through My Files and…”

  1. The window in the window…LOVE it. Love them all, but that one got my fingers itchin’. Actually, come to think of it–these are great images for writing prompts. I’ll have to save this link to get inspired…hmmm.

    1. I would adore it if you used one of my photos to inspire you to write a poem. You are one of my favourite poets you know (missed you terribly) and it would be an honour to read it Danielle.

  2. You’ve missed your calling as a comedian Val πŸ™‚ but you got me laughing and laughing. I love the colour red, and that shade of berry is the perfect shade of red (a cool red with blue undertones!). Your photos are wonderful and a bit science fictiony.

    1. The fact that I made you laugh Gabrielle, makes me a very happy Val! Some people think I’m funny but many think I’m waaaaaaaaaay out there, loud and embarrassing. I take no umbrage with any of those if they make someone smile, even for a second. Life hurts and laughter is all we have sometimes. The colour red is sort of mesmerizing to me and when I looked at the raspberries again I could see the blue you speak about and that was a very cool observation my dear. πŸ™‚ It’s odd you should mention Science fiction because I’ve been toying with the idea of writing up a short story and submitting it to a couple of very good Scifi Magazines. All I can tell you is that it involves my favourite despicable creature, a cockroach. πŸ˜‰

    1. That house had something so quaint and happy about it. It was one of those buildings you could see yourself living in and not wanting to leave Jessie. I’m pleased as a bee of pollen that you liked the sky as I was lucky enough to see it and record it. hugs

  3. Love the photos of the churches, Val. Some of the best photos I’ve taken of very old churches were also in Canada, but Toronto and MontrΓ©al. They just don’t make ’em like they used to.

    1. Architecture is an outward expression of the advancement of a culture, both socially and artistically, not that there is much of a distinction between art and the society which produces it. MontrΓ©al is a beautiful city and although I grew up primarily in Toronto, MontrΓ©al still has my heart. Did you ever visit Castle loma when you were in Toronto? I’d love it if at some point you posted some of your photos again Tel. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

