Proclivity To Repose

It’s in the laying down of things

like laws and arms and all they mean

Where were you is asked again

when five years on, the facial recognition fades

and the soul grapples with what never was

perhaps you try to appear obscure

when discussing matters of our graceless age

somewhere a drunken thespian sings

I’d  rather be the understudy

and watch it from the wings

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “Proclivity To Repose”

  1. Yes Bryan, it is true, you have passed the big 30 lol With each five year period ever after, it gets even sorer than that even! Ah, the joys of aging.

    1. Thank you Jessie 🙂 For liking the first line and for everything else you do for everyone who scribbles with hope and intent. hugs

  2. That’s some tag you have there Val! I must admit I got a bit lost with this poem and without the tag and the title I may have missed your meaning entirely. I love the last three lines and they could even go at the beginning of the poem as an entrance to the theme.

    1. I usually work from a title first, but this time I wrote the poem first and this was the result. I agree with you about the last three lines and I am going to repost it later the way you suggested because I believe you are on to something. Tell you a secret: The tags are my favourite part to write. lol

Leave a Reply

