An Old Poem I Wrote, That I’ve Decided To Post Again

Because Dhyan Traiber wrote a poem that reminded me of this piece I did some time ago.  To prove I’m not one of those dreadful recyclers, I’ve written a new poem below this one so you’re getting something old and something new.  🙂

THE FIST AND THE OVUM

The Fist And The Ovum

The fist and the ovum went for a walk

The ovum said “really, I just want to talk”

But the fist had ideas of power and might

Determined to incite the ovum to fight

The transparent fist made Ovum sigh

For she was the maker of life, not the lie

But it didn’t deter the focus of  fist

Who called it a war when Ovum tried to resist

The walk ended badly and both limped away

The fist with his conscience and the ovum betrayed

For as long as gender has been on this earth

The takers of life hate those who give birth

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

17 thoughts on “An Old Poem I Wrote, That I’ve Decided To Post Again”

    1. Why thank you Ms. Cindy! This one is part of a collection I’ve entitle my bitch Poems and at some point, I’ll find myself a lovely feminist press to send them to and when I do, I will be shipping, free of charge, copies to all my sisters who read my work. I like to think of it as girl medicine for bad men days. lol Oh god, I’ve had waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too many of those in my life. hugs

    1. Darling Dhyan, you are never late, and I’ve so many poems on this blog now…I think well over 100 actually, that it’s hard for me to recall them all, but you jogged my memory on this one. I take it you liked this? Much thanks my dear. 🙂

    1. You know Danielle, that might not be a bad idea, it could be a modern fable where women take over the world and men learn what the owner of a uterus can accomplish in half the time it takes a testicle. 😉 You never know, I might do something with it.

      1. Oh you must, you must you must!!!! Write it—I’ll preorder!! Laughing out loud but am also serious…just think, it could be a Broadway hit–like Wicked, but better!!! 🙂

    1. It fucks me up too B, but anything is better than a lie. At least the truth is a solid thing to stand on. Thank you my friend for digging this. 🙂

  1. I love this, especially the kindred spirit that rolls through the rhyme sequence. It actually reminds of something Lewis Carroll may have attempted had he not been alive during the Victoria era… a little à la Walrus and the Carpenter. 🙂

    1. I’m very flattered by the Lewis Carroll reference Tel and that Victorian era neutralized a great many artist. Damn scary back then. The Walrus and the Carpenter, I’m going to dine on that a while 😉 HUGS

  2. I don’t mind you ‘recycling’ things – especially as I was a late comer to your blog. One of those universal themes going back to ancient times where the males have such a fear of the power of femininity and the battle begins. Power to the ovum!

Leave a Reply

