Best of The Net and Referential Magazine

There is a wonderful poetry/fiction/photography magazine on the internet called Referential.  Poet and editor Jessie Carty has created a brilliant and unique publication, the hallmark of which is that each piece references from another piece until they are all linked or networked together.   I love the concept of each one behaving as a building block for another, because this is truly how it is and has been throughout the history of the arts.  We all inspire each other and this is often reflected in the spirit our work.  I’ve been privileged to appear in this publication and as of this week, The editors at Referential, have nominated some talented artists for the best of the net.  For some perplexing reason I cannot fathom, I’m one of them and I’m terribly honored.  Therefore, be dilligent my dear scribes, in your support of the arts and click the Referential link to read the work of these nominees.  Leave a comment to express your feelings about the work and if you are a poet, fiction writer or photographer, then my darlings, submit your little hearts out and then spread the good word about this original and substantial magazine, on your blog or in email.  Happy Friday to you all.  🙂

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Best of The Net and Referential Magazine”

  1. Hi Val. Congratulations! Wonderful news and I’m so glad you’re getting the recognition you deserve. Jessie’s initiative looks great and I will explore there some more soon, but I just wanted to say well done. Cockroaches and White Bread has always been one of my favourite poems of yours… The brutal truth, the haunting imagery so expertly crafted… It’s easy to see why the Referential editors chose you! Go well, my friend. I’m so proud of you. Peace and love always.

    1. Janine! Long time no see girlfriend 🙂 Thank you, I adore Jessie, she is such a dynamic presence for those of us who are trying to make it in this business. Referential is first class and it has the brainy sort of format I like. I hope you submit something for Jessie, you are such a fantastic writer and it would definitely add a richer dimension to Referential if you did. Peace and love to you always too honey. hugs

    1. Thank you Gabrielle, that makes me feel better about putting it out into the world. It was one hell of a tenement, one hell of a mother and one hell of a week there. I’ve made sure there are no roaches on this blog though. hugs

    1. I’m so glad you wanted me to be part of this very cool thing you are doing Jessie. 🙂 One person liking it is very touching for me, as it comes from a nasty place in my history but more than one liking it is incredibly wonderful. HUGS

    1. Thank you Cindy, I know you’ll enjoy the poets at Referential, as well as Jessie’s writing. Dayum, I’ve been so very lucky to have hooked up with some very talented writers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

