Pearl of Wisdom

I once had this idea

when I walked along the shore of us

that I would polish a pearl of thought and feeling

you gave me as a token of something mutual

until it shone so brightly

the reflection of the sun would illuminate a heart

that was cold and furious with want

but of course these notions are always replete with failure

and so I tossed the pearl back into the sea for any big fish to swallow

finally saying goodbye to the you inside of me

because to sum it up succinctly

it’s all in the striving you see

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Pearl of Wisdom”

    1. Hi Ollin, thank you for dropping in and leaving your words. I took a stroll over to your blog and I’m suitable impressed with not only your writing ability but your upbeat focus is dynamic. I’m going to put you on my blog roll and make you one of my regular blog visits. You and I have something in common with the novel writing, I’m also in the throes of keeping up my momentum and on the search for an agent. It’s good to connect with you! 🙂

    1. Then you and I have a mutual admiration society going on Singer, because I feel that way about your writing too! I think there is something so fascinating about the emotional approach you take to your creations, it is almost ethereal. Thank you for finding the pearl in this one and enjoying it. 🙂 hugs

    1. I agree Mark and the ‘any’ was most definitely intentional on my part. 😉 Thank you for seeing that the big fish is a twit.

    1. Yep, I’m a tosser of things not worthy, including pearls that didn’t turn out to be pearls at all. We’ve all got our dross and matter and all I can say is that I’m thankful for the massive sea that surrounds my life.

  1. A great poem val, I think it reflects your style and ideas perfectly clear. I really liked, stuff related to love is nothing like people usually describe it, this is so much real, and it also provokes in my a strong realistic sensation.
    Love and wish you the best

    1. Thank you Mariana! It’s good to see you again, you’ve been missed a great deal sweetie. You understood exactly what I was driving at in this poem. Love is indeed nothing like it is described or in some cases dreamed up to be. I think love is up and down and even a bit sideways sometimes but it is never straightforward and this is the lesson we all learn the hard way, through tears and longing. HUGS and I hope everything is beautiful in your world.

  2. sometimes, the harder you try, the worse you feel!
    And then, tossing it away seems like the only and best option!!

    This poem had a lot of feeling in it!! Intense and very realistic…
    Hope all’s well 🙂

    1. This is indeed true Kavita and there comes a time when trying is futility and very destructive eventually. Tossing is good, I believe in tossing and endings are only beginnings taking baby steps. All is good for me my sweet, slaving away with my novel. I hope all is wonderful with you too honey bee. hugs

Leave a Reply

