Photographs and Hot August Days

Yes, once again I’ve been out on a jaunt looking for something to digitally immortalize.  That butterfly was such a ham.  He kept following my around to have his photo taken, even taking extreme and dangerous measures when he chased that honeybee away so he could position himself beneath my lens.  He was such a thespian, I named him Olivier!  Further down, can you believe this is the water of the north Atlantic ocean?  The surface was like glass yesterday and needed to be recorded visually.  The horses are some lovely creatures who are sent to graze on a cliff overlooking Torbay.  The contrast was too perfect and I had to record it digitally for all of you  to see.   Of course, no group of photos by Val would be complete without some sky pictures.  The largest cloud was so otherworldly and it hovered for the longest time without altering its shape.  Enjoy the photos and most of all, enjoy your day wonderful people!

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

20 thoughts on “Photographs and Hot August Days”

  1. I saw a butterfly in the city for the first time yesterday. I spent a few years dressed up and playing a southerner. They use to be everywhere down that way. So seeing one in a midwestern city… that was something else. I guess the Butterfly was playing dress up.

    D.

    1. I think butterflies know perfectly well that they are extraordinary and beautiful somethingnewplease. In fact I think there is an awareness in all things in nature to show off the perfection of what they are. This dressing up of yours, does this mean you are an actor in the theatre perhaps?

    1. Hey Brad! It’s damn good to see you again 🙂 Olivier the butterfly is very pleased you liked his photos and I am going to make my way over to take a gander at Gabrielle’s Cicada. I hope everything is good in your part of the world and that your days begin and end with a grin my dear. hugs

    1. Hi magiceye, this is a lovely surprise 🙂 Thank you so much for enjoying my photos and spirit of this blog, please come back and visit often! I’m going to put you on my blog roll later today.

    1. LOL Say hi to Mandy for me from her kindred spirit in Canada 🙂 Dare I say she sounds like a charming and intelligent person lol In all seriousness, since you mention dopplegangers, Percy Shelley saw his once and it spoke to him. It scared the snot out of him apparently. Brad said you have a cicada over at your place, so I’m going over because those bug fascinate me, the sound they make.

    1. It makes me happy that you like the photos Jessie and although we don’t often get really hot weather here, the wind can be a bugger some days when you are trying to take a photo of something like a bee on some clover. Quite frankly, the constantly blowing wind here is a pain in the ass!

  2. Nice photos.. the close up on the Butterfly was remarkable! And the hovering cloud.. Their different shapes and their easy drift make them almost lively.. and enthralling.
    Hoping for some rain during these hot August days..

    1. Hi Dark Lord, thank you! I have this thing with bugs, they let me get very close. Maybe they know I find them endlessly fascinating and beautiful! The butterfly is called a Red Admiral and there were dozens in that patch of clover when I took it. They are sort of fearless around people. The cloud is the photo I liked the best, but then anything that flies or occupies the sky is an obsession for me. The rain can stay away from here lol We have too much of it but for you, I will wish a deluge okay my friend? 🙂

    1. Thanks again Cindy1000, you too take some exceptional photos! I also hope your weekend has been divine my dear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

