Cost of the Blues (Title courtesy somethingnewplease )

I took it

I learned it

I held it

I turned it

I worked it

I played it

I felt it

I became it

and when the lights went down and the glass was empty I sat alone, my ears ringing while my heart beat kept time with my tears falling in an empty hall. ย Somewhere east of satisfied I left my happy on a doorstep where everyone wiped their feet on my self respect. ย Now, I’ve got nothing but a pair of red shoes, a notebook and some blues on my back that cost too damn much. ย I don’t know about you, but there is something to be said for planning ahead.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “”

    1. Thank you Kavita and yes this is true, sometimes a person can have it all and still it isn’t what they truly want or need. Check out the blog of somethingnewplease, he is a fantastic writer with very original concepts. His title was brilliant.

    1. I can see you point Dhyan, but this one took on a life of it’s own and somethingnewplease supplied such a wonderful title from which to work. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. they all have their own life. like your kids, but they all come from the same place, no matter how far from each other they seem. those were just lying next to each other, i could see the similarity in their movements ๐Ÿ˜‰

      2. I won’t argue with your logic Dhyan because in many ways it is very true and as we all know, movement is everything ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Thank you Jessie, the best thing about any collaboration is that you don’t really know what the art gods are gonna give you but thanks to somethingnewplease, the title was a perfect foundation from which to build the poem.

  1. “…and when the lights went down and the glass was empty I sat alone, my ears ringing while my heart beat kept time with my tears falling in an empty hall.”

    Wow — the whole piece is great but I am fond of this line.

    Praise,
    D.

Leave a Reply

