Reminuisance (for Sabby)

…Yeah, I was doing it again

exercising my diabolical rite (misspelling intentional good readers 😉  ) to think back…

way back

to before you bent over backward to receive your award

for being the most entertaining guest at my table

and I

being the hostess

couldn’t wait to hear your acceptance speech

you sure as hell could capture an audience with your gaze and sway

I was young and petulant but prudent

and you were bruised but still alive

wearing your vice on your sleeve still doesn’t seem like a good idea to me

but then you always approved when I kept my clean eyes on the door

just in case we felt hasty

for a taste of the street

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “”

  1. BTW, did you check out Siouxsie Sioux’s new album from a few years ago, maybe around 2007 or 2008? Very worthwhile investment.

  2. Hey, Val, take out that comment! You don’t have to justify your art or intent. Let the reader decide. 😉 You’ve always got a flow to your writing, it tripped me up.

    1. Thank you Tel 🙂 I’ll not say another word about it but there will be more coming along that I’ve ripped from that time of life. The thing is this, sadly, too many people can relate to this and of course this is the nature of art, to filter and communicate that which is human and universal. I fail miserably a lot, but then sometimes I make someone cry or laugh and this is when I know my soul is still intact.

  3. My speakers have stopped working (something always stuffs up on my bloody computer – it’s a conspiracy I’m sure). Well it’s memory lane today – you got me delving into the past now. Anyhow, I still love your poem – captures a scene and time perfectly – sounds like a few old friends of mine 🙂

    1. Somehow I knew you would enjoy this poem Gabrielle. It’s a time, like most innovative eras, that will never come again but sadly some are frozen in time because they just couldn’t walk on with us. I hope you get your speakers fixed soon but I totally understand, this craptop pisses me off regularly.

Leave a Reply

