Hey kid

Remember me?

I was with you a long time ago

when you used to sit on the stairs

arms wrapping a ring around dirty scarred knees

your head bent low while you peered at the ribbing on the rubber steps

we sat like that together in the same body, thinking nothing but grime covered feelings

your heart beating but your soul not fully alive

I remember the fuzzy confusion when your name was called

a name you hated

because it belonged to you

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “”

    1. Thank you Cindy1000, It pleases me that my words make those who read them feel something, it is always my intention to open hearts. 🙂

    1. Indeed Cindy, but a broken heart can be the seed from which sprouts a will of steel to survive. I suppose I’m an iron weed.

  1. Somehow, hurt is best portrayed in written words!
    Beautifully written, Val…

    I wish you had seen a happier child… but now is what matters!! So cheers to that NOW!!! 🙂

    1. Thank you Kavita both for liking the poem and your kind wishes. I wrote it for me but more than that, for all the children who have their own steps and name they hate. If I had it my way, not one child would ever suffer. 😦

    1. Thank you Gabrielle, just so you know, I cried when I wrote it. Getting older is good, some of us appreciate the liberty available in the passage of time.

  2. Dhyan, I couldn’t have it better myself. I love the retrospection, the sense of self-disgust and angst, and the way it all gently flows together. So curious to know who the voice in the poem belongs to, but don’t tell me. It would ruin it.

    1. Okay tel, then I won’t say who it is but I’m thinking you have an inkling 😉 Thank you feeling the waves hit the sand on this one.

  3. Val,
    this is a beauty of gentle, moving poem. it s a great way to retrospect oneself.

    (and.. you got some titles adding. i a glad i didn’t miss on that one)

Leave a Reply

