Two Poems Now Titled :)

Cost of Bliss (Title courtesy gabrielle Bryden)

Something told me not to look

in your eye

but I did

Now I know

and you know very well

that I know

there is no way out of knowing

that the cost of Β bliss

is pain

Clutching (Title courtesy Opoetoo)

Your paper bag days grow tired and haggard

The curling edges of old habits and used to be

hang on your walls like portraits

you visit in the darkest part of night

carefully dragging your reticence like a ball and chain

being careful not to make too much noise

lest you wake that changeling you fear the most

yourself


Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “Two Poems Now Titled :)”

  1. I’m not sure why I thought the first poem was named “Cost of the Blues” but I enjoyed the piece and thought either title, the correct one or the false schizophrenic one I read the first time, works well with the message being conveyed.

    As for my arm, yes, I am proud to say I may have outdone my previous best efforts at a wild comeback. Maybe I was too eager, seeing as they almost had to cut the thing off.

    That would have been a bummer.

    Glad to see all is well.

    D.

    1. D my friend, anyone who can do that to their arm and joke about it is one gutsy dude. I’m just happy you kept your arm and are back to blogging. I like your title too now but since I’ve used Gabrielle’s already, I’m simply going to have to spin a poetic yarn from yours and post it sometime tomorrow. πŸ™‚

  2. perfect poems and I love the title of the first

    clutch has two meanings.
    like the thing to change gears or to hold tight.
    that is a possible title for the second one but I think a better one will come along.

    my first thought was 5 dollars because once I stuck 5 dollars to a wet quart bottle in a crumpled bag lying loosely in the hand of a sleeping hobo in the shade of a large oak behind an old folks home.
    yeah it took me somewhere and that is so cool

    wonderful stuff

    1. Thank you kseverny, I must confess, I do gritty better than I do warm and fuzzy and that you appreciate this is terrific! πŸ™‚

  3. ‘paper bag days’ is a fantastic image Val. I can hear your voice reading the first poem – haha. Two cool poems – any reason for untitled (just interested in why some poems don’t want a title hanging round their neck – thought you might know wise Val)?

    1. Okay, I’ll tell it to ya straight Gabrielle…I am secretly hoping that one of the beautiful souls who read my stuff will title them when I post them like this. πŸ˜‰ Sometimes I can’t tell what they should be called and yet a reader has an insight I lack. Any ideas my even wiser friend Gabrielle? hugs

      1. Haha – I don’t know – maybe ‘cost of bliss’ for the first one; second one is harder – I like the sound of ‘paper bag days’ but you change to the night in the poem so it sort of can’t be.

  4. “Something told me not to look
    in your eye” – these are the lines I had told myself when I had first met my now husband πŸ™‚ Ofcourse, our love hasn’t ended in pain… it hasn’t ended in the first place… we are only discovering and rediscovering each other, YET! πŸ™‚
    Those were amazing poems!!! Could relate (at least partly :)) to BOTH!!!

    1. I’m so happy this made you think of the love of your life Kavita and the fact that it is still going strong without pain makes me even happier! πŸ™‚ Thank you for brightening my day with your comment about my poem.

    1. Thank you Cindy πŸ™‚ I go inside, rummage around in the dark and grab something and post it. It pleases me so much that you read and appreciate my work.

Leave a Reply

