Dream poetry #1

I’m going embark on a new poetic adventure, dream poetry.  I have a very active sleep life and my dreams are not only vivid but I lucid dream in addition to out of body stuff.  I feel most of the imagery is wasted once I’m awake and that is a damn shame because some of it’s so outrageous you’d have to dream it to believe it.  😉  Without further delay, my very first dream poem…

In the Solarium

Hitchcock met me at the door

the only door

the one with the portal near the floor

His penguin walk and magic stopwatch gave him away

and when he stubbed out his cigar I heard him say

“In the solarium, is where we want to be

Beside the podium and ink and the giant referee”

I followed closely, counting the times his heals hit the floor

and jumped out of my skin when his laughter shook the ferns and made them cry

I lept to the podium to stop the flood

I said I would read from my work but it was too heavy to carry around

instead I would like to speak of the process of creating plum biscuits

I opened my mouth to begin my speech but when I saw people there

listening

waiting

expectant

I

felt like a fool

with jelly for knees

and the wings of an angry bird beating inside my chest

I ran from the stage and directly into the large frame of the giant referee

he wrapped his arms around me

and lifted me up to see the sunlight streaming through the glass ceiling

inviting me to consciousness

and

morning

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

22 thoughts on “Dream poetry #1”

    1. OH MY FREAKING GOD! It’s Mr. Traiber!! Hey you, how was your travelling? You’ve been missed and yes, I sleep therefore I am hehe I simply cannot wait to see what golden verse you’ve been scribbling while you’ve been away.

      1. it was too good, thank you.
        hope it will slowly come back into the pages.
        i admit i have learned it is not easier to write when not reading so much. therefore, and for all the other reason, i was missing you and others of this community very much.

      2. I am in agreement with that Dhyan. Reading other writers is inspirational and keeps the wheel turning. I missed you too as did many others my dear. 🙂

    1. Yes, and Bindo would be our sponsor telling us all that we’ll be back again next week with another exciting episode of Val’s nighttime adventures! 😉 I’m glad you liked it amigo.

    1. Hey Cindy, it’s good to see you visit me again. 🙂 Thank you for reading my sleep time lunacy too. All is good here, perpetually foggy but alive and kicking. I also hope all is well with you my sweet. Much love to you, hugs

  1. Fantastico Val and very enlightening! ‘I said I would read from my work but it was too heavy to carry around’ – that’s why you write it down Val and share it with us – takes the load off. I love this stuff; dream analysis would be what I would be doing if I wasn’t writing ( was going to set up a website to analyse dreams). I wrote the poem Realm of the REM about my dream state down.http://gabriellebryden.wordpress.com/2009/07/07/realm-of-the-rem/

    1. Gabrielle, I’ve always been fascinated by the dream world too and it would brilliant if you did something with dream analysis on your blog now. Sometimes the subject has a difficult time being objective enough to analyze their own dreams. Have you read any of Carl Jung’s work with dreams? I agree with the load being lifted by writing, it’s cathartic for all of us I think.

      1. I studied Jung at Uni as part of my psychology degree (collective unconsious etc.,) but that was a long time ago, will have to do a refresher. I’m not big on white, male psychiatrists from the dark days (don’t get me started on Freud) but Jung is OK. Maybe I should get people to throw a dream on my blog for analysis – the answer always has to come, with help from the interpreter, from the dreamer. I find dream dictionaries too formulaic for my liking but they can provide some clues to the archetypal nature of a dream – a clue which can be used along with other information (like what is happening in the current events of the dreamer).

      2. I completely agree with you regarding the old white man perspective. Freud was a turd. Nuff said there lol 😉 lol I’m so looking forward to your stuff with dreams Gabrielle, let me know when you are going to do it so I can participate. hugs

  2. Love this idea! I am generally too lazy to get up and write my dreams down but it is amazing to watch the way the mind works. As part of the prose poem project I’m working on right now, however, I am using a dream dictionary I bought once years ago to see what common things are are supposed to mean in your dreams 🙂

    1. I’ve got a dream dictionary too Jessie and sometimes they are scarily accurate but when the psychic stuff slides in, it isn’t as straight forward infortunately. Prose poem eh? 😉 That sounds verrry interesting!

    1. Yes ksverny, I’ve been told I have a nice back lol You know I always adore to see you here, reading and commenting. 🙂

  3. Interesting one, Val. I, too, am in love with dream poetry. I do the same thing, and it seems like such a waste to just journal the dreams and never have any other good use for them. Thankfully, there’s poetry. My most recent exploit is Baltimore, In Dreams, which I just wrote from a dream the other day.

    Now, nightmares are a different story. Let me know how you handle those.

    1. Hi tel, I’ve been a very bad poet friend by not visiting your blog and reading your beautiful words, but I’ll take my sheepish self over there in a few minutes. hugs I’m happy you liked my dream lunacy and yes it is good to utilize the pure creativity that these experiences are. Nightmares are short stories of course! 😉 Okay, now I’m going over to Tel’s place to read a dream of Baltimore.

    1. lol Yes the plum biscuit talk, whatever the hell that is Mark, because I’ve not freaking idea. Thank you for appreciating my nighttime exploits in verse and I’m going to make this a very regular thing. 🙂

  4. Awww…lovely!!
    This is an excellent start to your dream poetry!! Good God! The dreams we dreams (while asleep) really are wasted if are aren’t able to capture them! I am glad I too tend to remember many of them… I am now inspired to try writing some myself 🙂 Thank you for the inspiration!! Yaaaayyyy

    I thoroughly enjoyed your dream AND your poem… and I loooove Hitchcock too! 🙂 The vividness in your words made me feel like I was the one dreaming it 🙂 I bet you “saw” the wings of an angry bird beating in your chest! That’s the beauty of dreams…you CAN see such stark images!! WOW!

    1. Thank you Kavita 🙂 I was hoping someone else would do this too and with Tel doing it already and you now taking an interest, there is going to be some fascinating poetry being written. You are correct, I did see the wings in a weird skin transparent way, if that makes any sense. Hitchcock was as splendid in my dream as he was in life but the giant referee was another story lol

Leave a Reply

