Two New Podcasts

These are poems that were initially a major creative component of my memoir, however I’ve since expanded other stories to make the end result more marketable to the mainstream, leaving me free to use the poems for a chapbook.  Bryan Borland has read these and his critique has been instrumental in helping choose which path to follow.  If you are interested in hearing them, from my lips to your ears, then go here:  Val’s Podcasts

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Two New Podcasts”

  1. I will have to listen some more.
    What stands out now are that lying lady from Kentucky and Invisible Women.
    I have met so many people like that lying lady.
    It is not like I can relate to Invisible Women but it certainly is a very powerful and moving poem,so sad that it is worse.
    Okay the “or a burger” line is ringing pretty loud still from yesterdays listening as well as that secret that you will keep. As curious as I am I don’t even want to know the secrets it is enough,more than enough to know that you keep them-safe.

    I hope that your blue life on the concrete wall is going well 🙂

    1. Hey Mark, thank you for taking the time to listen to the pods. I’ve not done them all, that would take too long and it may make me mute…although there are several people on planet earth who would like that lol Kentucky Karen was like a lot of people with pasts filled with fear and shame, they conjure something they can live with or that will make them better than they feel inside. She was actually a lovely soul, just damn hard to pin down, which was okay with me. I hope she is somewhere safe and at peace now, I truly do. The Closet poem with the burger line, was meant to highlight the do gooder bullshit that passes as reality. It’s not. Washington state has the best dressed homeless women in the world, now how is that for out of touch? I will never divulge what my friend told me, I feel like it’s less like keeping a confidence and more like being the guardian of her fragility. We all did that for each other. My life on the concrete wall is blue and cemented in mystery. 😉 It’s good to see you here, and I hope your summer is sunny and happy!

      1. I just wanted to tell you that your thoughts about Karen did shine through in your words and the way they were spoken.
        That is why it stood out and why it is so powerful.
        thank you for sharing and suffering through
        peace

      2. Thanks Mark, you met these souls and they affected you. That was my aim. The suffering only stops when the breathing does, but that is life I guess.

  2. Well Bryan doll, it’s because you boss wants you to do that thing that starts with W lol I hope you do get to listen to them because you are the first person to have read them and it may add some life to the women and the words. hugs

    1. Bryan honey, I certainly hope you are right. I’m supposed to do this one, to tell it. Whether anyone truly wants it or not is another matter. I think I may have a John Kennedy Toole experience with it. I’ve taken those poems and will do a chapbook and the rest is a memoir. I sure as hell hope I can sell it to some agent who sees more than the bottom line. It’s the weight of it that matters but sometimes the heavy is a turn off to an industry rife with empty shirts. Now you are my pillar sweetie and I adore you for it. 🙂 HUGS

    1. Thanks ML, a couple of these were hard to read and I don’t mind admitting I had to do them more than once because it hurt my heart. I’m so happy you listened to them, than you. hugs

Leave a Reply

