Lament

I fool no one

and no one fools me

she said

while tapping on her temple where her knowledge used to be

I owe no one

and no one owes me

she said

while capturing the rain water in a bowl where her food used to be

I know no one

and no one knows me

She said

while talking to the chair where her lover used to be

I miss no one

and no one misses me

She said

while leaving the building where her home used to be

I am no one

and no one is me

She said

while looking in the mirror where her reflection used to be

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Lament”

  1. Love the repetition and structure of this poem.

    I really like these two lines especially:
    while tapping on her temple where her knowledge used to be
    while looking in the mirror where her reflection used to be

    1. Hi ML! You little vagabond, I’ve missed you girl 🙂 Thank you sweetie, it was a bitter day when I wrote that ditty…okay, it’s still a bitter day lol

  2. The mind runs rampant with “could be’s” in this, Val. Don’t tell me anything! I love the mystery of this poem and the woman in it.

    1. Okay, I won’t Tel. Suffice to say, I’ve known this woman all my life and we are very much alike 😉

  3. perfect

    perfectly sad – well ,depending on the route it took to get there, maybe not so sad

    glad it is just one part ,assuming this is inspired by your story

    Neil Diamond would like that chair bit.

    1. I am I said Mark, that is a natural fact, I am woman hear me roar as well. Thanks Mark, and this is really a poem about many women and the feelings certain events in life engender.

    1. This was meant to reveal what may women don’t want to, those moments when we feel completely ourselves and yet lost at the same time. I believe there are natural cycles to this and I’ve tried to include them all. Thank you Cindy for reading and appreciating.

  4. Okay, I am framing this poem on the wall above my desk! BRILLIANT poem… so damn touching, and goes straight to the heart! SMASHING!!! I LOVE IT

    1. There is nothing any writer could want to hear more than what you’ve said Kavita and I am deeply touched. 🙂 hugs

    1. Thank you Corra, it was meant to touch the heart of the reader. It is something a lot of women can understand.

Leave a Reply

