2 Poems

Dirge

The bruise is spreading blue into the red zone

on this ever widening circle of the sun

it withers you and I can feel the will in you leaving

an exclamation of goodbye

wrapped in one last breath and tear

a finger traces each word in your paper grave marker

Suddenly at home

in his thirty ninth year

Vines

clinging

climbing

grasping

twining

creeping

Beside a willow bent and weeping


Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

21 thoughts on “2 Poems”

    1. Me too Corra, but someone is going to read this and perhaps leave a situation that is dangerous. Someone else may read this and stay alive one more day. At least, this is my hope. Thank you for seeing the merit in my work. HUGS

  1. You have a way with words that enable you to calmly relate anything, even a tragedy, that belies your strength to cope, and to get on.. And the poetry itself has a deep rhythm, soul and is simply music with words.

    1. Thank you Dark Lord, for appreciating the emotion behind this. I have my scars though and sometimes moving forward means going backward then steps first. I’m luckier than many people though and I always need to remind myself of this because it gives me that extra push to keep going. Your visits are always appreciated on my blog. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you paperbaggirl, some things really test a person’s will, and if you make it out, you owe a hand up to those who find themselves in that dark hole. πŸ™‚

    1. Yeah, me too Mark. But ya know what? He doesn’t hurt anymore and that is more important than my missing his presence on this planet. Thank you for reading it and feeling it too. πŸ™‚

    1. Yes Gabrielle, this is about my life. It’s about my first husband’s suicide and the body and soul sore that remains. He is always a tear away, even after all these years. I’m not one to drag my dead around, but it has affected me so deeply that I find writing it is good because it’s important to talk about taboo subjects like suicide and mental illness. This can happen to a person and they can move forward with a greater understanding of life and love, at least I hope I have. HUGS

Leave a Reply

