Sleeves

Suspended high above I watched closely

the oval throne of hearts and Jacks and fools gone wild

hands were spread in rounds of bluff

ante being upped by velvet lips and mercury tongue

The hands on the tired clock yawned 2 am claiming another lost soul

folding like a lawn chair in the unbearable heat of the moment

sweat dripped and stained the green until finally someone flushed bright red

and without shame did the mocking gloat

while the dealer slid something up her very long sleeves

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Sleeves”

  1. “The hands on the tired clock yawned 2 am claiming another lost soul

    folding like a lawn chair in the unbearable heat of the moment”

    Love the imagery, what a great picture you weave! – nice writing. 🙂

    1. Thank you Singer 🙂 I’m catching up on all the observations I’ve been making for the past few years and this blog is the result.

    1. Hey b, thanks for digging my dirt and verse and as for the Lysergic acid diethylamide, that shit’s bad for you and will turn you into Brian Wilson and should never be taken prior to a game of poker! lololol Hey, Jerry Garcia was da bomb. 🙂

  2. Love those shorts in the Grateful Dead video – haha. Val, is this my fault – writing about card games and the like. I love this poem – and agree with theonlycin about the lawn chair. That tired clock was a master stroke too.

    1. Yes, I’m blaming you Gabrielle, because I never think of my old profession and after you posted yours, it’s on my mind A LOT! Sometimes I miss the work and pay, but not the stress. Thank you for the clock appreciation and your very cool pun hugs 🙂

      1. LOL yeah yeah sure sure Gabrielle and that’s your story and your stickin’ to it 😉 hugs

  3. What a thing to read first thing in the morning.
    I am now exhausted,paranoid and confused. 🙂
    Very rich.
    thanks

    1. You are most welcome Mark and thank you for the gift of your early morning paranoia and confusion lol I used to deal poker and play occasionally and I was thinking about it and, there it was. I wasn’t going to post this after I wrote it because the whole poker metaphor for human relations has been done to death and much better than I can do it. I’m glad I posted it now. 🙂

      1. so you weren’t sure about posting:
        “goes to show ,you dont ever know,watch each card you play and play it slow”

        please excuse the blatant poker metaphors herein:

      2. Good ole Jerry and the boys, a lovely addition to my comments section Mark. After listening to this, two things are clear: 1. The grateful dead utilized the poker metaphor better than I and 2. Your mental music catalogue is as varied as mine. Cool beans and thanksf or this video. 🙂

Leave a Reply

