I Don’t Often Get Political But, This Is Actually…

social and spiritual, therefore here comes the deluge from my mind and soul, take cover.  I won’t go on ad nauseum or do a diatribe that will blot out precious moments from your day dear scribes, I’m really just going to make a request based on events that have been unfolding in the middle east.  Disturbing events.  Events that require close attention.  It matters not to me your religions bent, or your cultural affiliation, what matters is that your mind is open.  Here is my request:

This sweet girl has an important day approaching.  It would be her 81st on birthday on June 12, had she been permitted to live.  Instead, she died in Bergen-Belsen concentration camp at the age of fifteen.

While in hiding from the monsters who eventually killed her, she wrote in this diary, a birthday gift from her family which actually became a gift from Anne to you and I:

Which was published, printed and looks like this sometimes:

Request:  If you’ve read it, please reread it over the summer and if you’ve not read it, please make this a gift you give to yourself and let Anne speak to you.  I was raised a catholic (emphasis on the intentional small c) but now I’m a humanist,  my god is the collective unit known as you and I and everyone else on this planet and the  book above is my bible.  Read it and you will see why.  Happy weekend scribes, keep speaking your truth freely and openly.   🙂

Happy Birthday Anne, thank you for the words, always the words.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

23 thoughts on “I Don’t Often Get Political But, This Is Actually…”

  1. Indeed Bryan, and there is still so much beauty in this world still…Anne’s words are a good bit of that beauty. 🙂 HUGS

  2. I read the book years ago, and saw the play in Denver last year. I cried for two hours straight after the show ended. The devastation inflicted by the Nazis, I pray, will never be matched. Whenever I see a Neo Nazi or White Supremacist with a tattooed swastika I want to slap them until they come to their senses. The inhumanity is immeasurable.

    1. Debra, me too girl, the tears. I don’t think people see it anymore, the antisemitic propaganda that is rampaging its way through every democracy on this planet right now and of course the same diminishing of that trend, to ignore it, make it seem unimportant. It would appear this world learned nothing from the second world war and that says something so horrific about the spiritual state of humanity. HUGS Debra, missed you over here. 🙂

    1. Thank you Gabrielle, Anne always deserves a reread and it takes a champion to know one honeybee. 🙂 HUGS

  3. I have actually read this.
    We studied it at school years ago.
    It is so important to remember these events.
    It may just help us to avoid tyranny and oppresion in the future

  4. I’ve read it several times.
    Another book you may not so much enjoy as devour for its beautiful prose is Anne Michaels’ Fugitive Pieces.

    My deepest respect to you for this post Val.

    1. Content and context of said acceptance promptly accepted on the grounds that it is also clearly heartfelt Brad. 🙂

    1. Yes brownpaperbaggirl, still, even after all this time, she is timeless in her goodness, wisdom and understanding of humanity. She was more than just a girl who wrote a diary, she was a living breathing recorder of how the world lost its soul for a while and if we aren’t careful it will happen again. The signs are right there everyday in the media and it is frightening.

    1. She informs everything in my life, she wasn’t here, at least not in the flesh, but make no mistake, Anne got me out of my own camp. Shalom Leigh, be good to yourself and your sweet beautiful wife 🙂

  5. I remember reading through parts of this so many times in school…until now, though, I hadn’t really thought about it lately. I’ll make a point to re-read it sometime this summer,though. Another book I might suggest if you haven’t already it yet: Night by Elie Wiesel.

    1. Night is what I refer to as a book you don’t read so much as you inject it into you veins. Thank you Lisa, for being such a wonderful soul and for listening to Anne again. hugs

  6. Thanks for reminding us all, Val. One of my favorite quotes that I often like to meditate on is hers: “I keep my ideals, because in spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart.”

    1. You know what Tel, that is something that always comes to my mind when I feel hateful, just those words. You are a cool dude Tel 🙂

Leave a Reply

