Cake

Sometimes it’s good to remember the prison walls

and interior games of solitaire

counting minutes and aces

watching as they pass like raindrops down the window

endless sliding hopes each individually named

just for you

mud and floods and lichen

a Gothic horror made real

while the coyotes yip

and the cougar prowls

and you feel the pin point of light disappear

absorbed by the darkness he spreads across your future

as if he were spreading icing on a cake

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “Cake”

    1. You will get the book, and it will be signed by me to you with a special notation about hummingbirds πŸ™‚ Now, lets hope a lit agent loves me too! I agree, the darkest things are many times more real and memorable than the happy but this is where we learn so much.

  1. It’s funny, the irony of the this…it kind of describes how I’m feeling about my professional situation at the moment and it’s called ‘cake’…heh. Aside from that, I love the raindrops passing down the windows and the tiny pinpoints of light disappearing – describes perfectly a hopeless feeling…

    1. Work is getting you down eh? hugs, me to girl but at least you work is tasty, mine involves Mr. Clean and grime lol I’m very happy the raindrop image worked, because there was a window in a shack in the woods and I sat and watched those raindrops slide just that way, down down down taking me with them. But, the good news is, I’m hear talking to a lovely girl who makes exquisite cakes and the sun is shining. hugs

  2. Its a very interesting contrast between the poem and the last line.
    When i spread the icing on the cake.
    I go ah now i must peel those onions.
    Argggh
    Can totally appreciate what you’ve done with this

    1. Me too Cin, but that was a window of time between 1998 and 2001 that experienced and will probably never fully leave behind. I’m here though, and that is much more than I thought possible at the time. If you felt it, then I must have written it properly and that makes me a very happy scribe.

  3. don’t remember too long .

    I hate the pinpoint to fade like that.

    this is powerful and I know the book will be something incredible.

    1. Thank you Mark, sometimes the memories are a motivation and at other times a ball and chain, but I never stay in them for very long. The book will matter, not just to me, but to others I will never meet and if I’m lucky it will be a pinpoint of light for someone who reads it. πŸ™‚

  4. Great command of imagery, Val, especially the way it all builds up to contrast/collide with that final image of spreading icing on a cake.

    1. Thank you mon amis Tel, I used the icing image because this individual liked to have his cake and eat it too and he was very deliberate in his meting out of cruelty.

Leave a Reply

