Homeless Observations #1

There is absolutely no place available to relieve yourself at 2am when you are sleeping on a bench

The most coveted benches in any park are those nowhere near garbage cans

The best place to rest your legs from walking all over during the day, is a free clinic because everyone there looks as bad as you do and therefore the don’t question your presence

The best food is from the church food banks.  The worst food is from the city food banks

Food courts in the mall are the best place to find untouched or nearly untouched food, if you are brave/desperately hungry enough to snag it.

Homeless shelters run by the city are cleaner and nicer than  those run by the churches.  I know, just the opposite of the food bank situation above.

Condiments from Denny’s, Mcdonalds, Taco Bell etc will keep you alive without solid food for a long time, especially if you can get packets of peanut butter and salsa.

There are more women living in cars, parks and under bridges than you can even imagine

Many homeless people have a cell phone but not food or medicine or access to healthcare

Cemeteries are the safest place to sleep at night

*Yes, this information is from bitter personal experience, so don’t try this at home boys and girls because it leaves you full of cynicism.  😉


Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Homeless Observations #1”

    1. I like that Brad, capitalistically challenged. 🙂 Now, I’m in a new phase, publishing contractually challenged. 😉 Thanks for appreciating my dark humour.

  1. homelessness terrifies me just as much as prison does.
    The point is it is so easy to lose everything.
    One missing paycheck, thrown out of your home especially if your away from friends and family can be devastating.
    I have spent years saving to guarantee that never happens
    But there are no real guarantees.
    .
    Point is i cant know what it was like to go through what you went through.
    But i’m glad to know that this particular situation had a happy ending

    1. You are brilliant young man. Kseverny, you have a wise head on your shoulders and you impress me once again. I hear you about prison. I’ve never been in jail but I did work in one when I was not much younger than you are now. LOL I wanted to be a social worker, and help fix society’s ills, how is that for hilarious? Maybe this is my social work eh? 🙂

  2. Glad you can share it.
    This is very important.
    Homeless sounds awful but daughterless sounds terrifying.

    It is very easy to throw people away and write them off.
    Just aint no good though.

    1. Daughterless was indeed terrifying and beyond words. Thanks Mark, for seeing the truth of this life and for doing good for others. I know you do kind things for others, but I won’t tell a soul! 😉 Just keep doing those things okay?

      1. I think that your words/story in the right places could do a great deal of good.
        I hope that you get them there.
        now about that good stuff you think I do ….sshhhhhh 🙂

  3. Good one Val for writing this. Homelessness is just a paycheck away for many people that’s for sure. I’m so glad you got your daughter back, that must have been so traumatic.

    1. Thank you Gabrielle, for understanding how easy it is to end up this way. It was traumatic in many ways that I’ll never discuss, unless it’s in the novel I’m writing. The entire nightmare of abuse and misery paled in comparison to my little girl’s smile when I found her after the abduction. She is everything to me and I know you understand exactly what I mean, sister mother. hugs 🙂

    1. Indeed I did Tel and it was nothing short of a miracle the way it happened. It did lead to a rather ugly Hague convention case here on this island which set a legal precedent that you as a future lawyer might find interesting, considering the specialty you are considering. The bottom line: We won, good won and she is safe, happy and healthy and I adore her heart and soul. Sometimes good things do happen. 🙂

      1. I’ll have to dig around in my case books when I take those immigration and family law classes. You’re fortunate, Val. For many, the justice system is a sham that provides little or no justice.

  4. Bryan, one of the reasons I wrote this was because A. I’m writing something regarding this and it’s on mind B. I’m sick of the stereotype of homeless people and it seemed like a good time to write and post something about it now that the good weather is here and homeless people will be very visible. Not all are mentally ill, drug/alcohol addicted, parolees or prostitutes. I was just like anyone normal sitting at their computer reading my blog right now. I was relatively educated, intelligent, pretty, talented and one bad choice to cross the border with my child from Canada to the US ended in abuse and my child’s abduction. When I lived on the streets in Washington state as well as in various shelters, I was recording every single thing I experienced and witnessed, while desperately searching for my daughter. By day I walked, searched, begged, cried, screamed, suffered, picked through the garbage and bonded with the finest human beings I’ll ever know anywhere: Homeless women with nothing to lose and the truth hanging out for all to see. At night, I just tried to find a safe place to sleep so I could stay alive for my baby. There are two worlds Bryan, the one you and I now inhabit and the real world, on the street. Hugs for doing something good for someone without because you know, things in life are funny and one day it could be you or someone you know sleeping on that bench or that piss/vomit filled mission floor.

Leave a Reply

