Just a Few Photographs I Took Today…

when I was out and about enjoying the one day of sunshine we are going to get on this island of madness and fog. Enjoy and have a wonderful weekend lovely scribes.

Downtown St. John's from an odd angle
Just a beatiful window on a quaint house I pass many days a week
A cat sitting in the dandelion grass patch by a parking lot near the park
This must have been what the cat above was seeking while he was skulking in the grass
A typical street in downtown St. John's
A fleet of bluebirds by the side of the road
Aw, come on, you knew I was going to slip in a few of these babies didn't ya?
The sky was too beautiful today for me to avoid looking up
Yeah, I can hear you whispering "Please, stop for the love of god, end this photo hell for all of us!" Your wish is my command, therefore, meet the hand. 😉
Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

21 thoughts on “Just a Few Photographs I Took Today…”

  1. Leave the dark age behind AGAIN. I’ve already escaped once. And thanks for calling me honeybee; I’ve never been called that before now. 😀

    1. LOL yes tel, the AGAIN I can relate to as well but his time I’m staying put when I get to the good place…well, except when I need to get away on vacay lol You are a honeybee Tel. 🙂

    1. Hi Cindy, all is good on the rock, albeit foggy and rainy. You have much better weather than we do. Good vibes and wishes sent to you my dear! 🙂

    1. Like I said Lisa, this is NOT what it looks like most of the time. This is how they nail tourists ya know. They go out and take colourful photos on the three days of year when the sun shines and you aren’t freezing to death (okay, perhaps that was a bit of an exaggeration) and everyone thinks, hey, lets go visit that lovely unspoiled island. So pure, so clean. Uh huh. The harbour here had actual turds floating in the water due to the city dumping it’s sewage there. Oh, there is so much more, so very much more Miss Lisa. lol

    1. Tel, it is all an illusion. This island is changing however and in another five to ten years, this will be the place to be. Right now, more visible minorities and outsiders need to move here to oust the ‘related ones’ from their positions of power. Once that happens, my daughter will be ready for university and I’ll be free to go back to the mainland, sanity and decent roads on which to drive.

      1. Sounds sort of like parts of Kentucky, and you sound a lot like me. I’m counting the days until our son is ready for college, and then I’m off to new locations where “ethnic restaurant” doesn’t just mean Mexican and Chinese, not there’s anything wrong with those cuisines.

      2. You damn showoff Tel! You mean you can actually GET Mexican food there? lol It is so bad here that there are guys who park their trucks on the side of the road selling bloody seal flippers, as if that’s a tasty treat. Oh, you have no idea honeybee lol The good news is that you and I and our families will one day walk out and into the light of all sorts of worldly cuisine and cultural richness and leave the dark ages behind. 🙂

      3. You damn showoff Tel! You mean you can actually GET Mexican food there? lol It is so bad here that there are guys who park their trucks on the side of the road selling bloody seal flippers, as if that’s a tasty treat. Oh, you have no idea honeybee lol The good news is that you and I and our families will one day walk out and into the light of all sorts of worldly cuisine and cultural richness and leave the dark ages behind. 🙂

    1. Thanks kseverny, 🙂 I should do more of these. I was out staging a photo for the front of a book and it seemed like a good time to get some sunshine Newfoundland photos. I’ll try to post some more, perhaps once a week I’ll do it.

    1. Thank you Cindy! On occasion, this island does look lovely, in a certain slant of light, when there is light piercing the fog. I’m pleases as punch that you liked them. 🙂

  2. Gee you take a mean photo – how do you get that soft look? Now you are really reminding me of my good friend Mandy – she’s always taking photos of the sky and talking about light.

    1. Thank you Gabrielle and that soft look is achieved by zooming in too fast and snapping the photo lol I was in a hurry to get that cat picture and couldn’t wait. The sky represents an open free space to me, something that has been sorely lacking in my life since birth and I suppose those needs can become obsessions. Perhaps the sky is a good obsession. I think your friend Mandy is lucky to have you as a friend too Gabrielle! Tell Mandy I said hello from this little rock in the sea. 🙂

  3. enjoyed all the photos except the buses ,they still make me nervous after all this time.

    the typical downtown street is so cool. I would never want to live so close to people but I still think it looks neat.

    thanks for sharing
    and keep looking up 🙂

    1. Ah, you are a school bus phobic are you Mark? lol There were more of them but I could only capture those on the fly around the corner. I don’t like living too close to people either, but there is something quaint about this town, if you can get past some nonsense, mainly bad drivers and crap weather. Other than that, it’s safe and clean. I will indeed to keep looking up as the sky is where I go to dream.

Leave a Reply

