Weeper

On a chair
reclusive
sitting with the sting
and ache
so throbbing in its truth
nothing quells the ebb and flow
of salt water tidal waves
or stifles the anguished heart
storms building inside weakened barricades
of nothing really matters
not cause
or effect
not even life or breath
only
the rhythmic heaving sobs
of the weeper

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

15 thoughts on “Weeper”

  1. I guess I was used to crying on my pillow a lot because oddly enough, a good cry makes me relaxed and sleepy afterward. I always feel better,though, like maybe the storm has passed and the worst is over.

    1. I agree Lisa, every feeling we have we are meant to use to survive the trip through these lives we live. πŸ™‚ A good cry, a good sleep and a tray of brownies and life looks better.

  2. LOL Bryan, yes the same sort of all body exhaustion. Of course with crying, there is nothing positive motivating it. I wasn’t certain of that verse, I really thought it was cheesy, but as always, those are the sort that other people like. Odd really.

  3. There is nothing like a good cry to make you forget what you’re crying about or how ridiculous the whole thing is anyway…well that is until the next bout of crying. Enjoyed your poem.

    1. Crying is good slpmartin and you’ve got the right idea, a good cry does make you eventually forget whatever it was that started it all. “That is until the next bout of crying” lol very true, we humans are such misery repeaters. πŸ™‚

  4. Excellent poem. That is just how it is at that moment when you are overwhelmed by tears and emotion – the whole world stands still and it feels like it will always be that way. Things usually get better though (luckily). A body needs to cry that’s for sure (many men are tear disadvantaged πŸ™‚

    1. Indeed Gabrielle, what you say is true. I think we’ve all been down bleary eyed avenue but the key is to not stay there I suppose. LOL Men are apparently not boogerless though.

      1. you should know that this has been an incredibly long work day with lots of driving in between jobs,during this driving much laughter from this “boogerless” comment. πŸ™‚

      2. There it is Mark, the central focus for my writing, comments included. I want to make anyone reading it to smile or better than that, laugh out loud. Hell, I even like a smirk if I can elicit one. Thank you for telling me that something I wrote made a long boring work drive boogerlessly funny. :0 lol

  5. I could use a good cry about now.
    I wonder if I will ever have one again.
    Doubt it.

    I love it, especially from not cause to the end -perfect.

    1. A good cry is important Mark. An elder on the rez once told me it gets rid of toxins in the body that are created by emotional pain. To cry is to cleanse the soul and body. That’s sounds noble and balanced doesn’t it? Me, I’m wiser, I save my tears for important pain, I learned that in a shack in the woods. Thank you for liking and understanding my poem. πŸ™‚

      1. all my toxins come out in ……you guessed it -eye boogers.

        all my toxins hmmmmmmmmmmm sounds like a great title:)

Leave a Reply

