Barking Purse

Celebrity carrying insecurity bags
Purses filled with social fear
Park their pocket books
in various colours, shapes and sizes
at the closet door…

but before I leave the safe confines
of four walls and solitude
I lift a tiny body
fit it snugly under one arm
loose enough for shifting
Camera angles do apply
comfortable enough to keep me warm
a heart beating I can feel close to my breast
a tiny furry barrier in pink
between us and our anti social social life
High on being on
You can’t make my stomach churn with tabloid eyes
Sure, you have all the leverage
To make me feel blinded by my own light
alone in and above the yes crowd
But I’ve got a plan
Meet my newest weapon, it’s the latest craze
and it can soothe my nervous condition
divert you gaze from my nose
Meet my puppy Tinkerbell
in coordinating shocking pink
My greatest fashion statement yet
My adorable barking purse.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

14 thoughts on “Barking Purse”

    1. Thank you theonlycin, I’m delighted you’ve dropped by my blog and even more pleased you liked what you read. I’m flattered to be put on your blog roll and you are now on mine as well. You’re writing is intelligent and entertaining and I’m making you part of my regular reading. 🙂

  1. I had to laugh aloud when I finished reading your poem…I could all those Hollywood types parading along Sunset Blvd. with their dogs…just too funny. Thanks for this.

    1. Making someone laugh is actually more important to me when I write, so thank you slpmartin for your laughter. If you found this funny, then I’ve succeeded and Paris Hilton would be thrilled because now I’ve given her a forum to be talked about, which is her entire reason for living and having barking purse! lol I guess barking purses work. Hmmm…I wonder if a nice little yorkie would be good for my blog. 😉

  2. Good one Val. I’d never thought of it like that, but you are right no doubt. Dog as security blanket. Being a celebrity must be such a shallow, crappy existence – constantly scrutinised for physical flaws, fake friends etc., Do these people realise that these dogs have legs!

    Just wondering – did you mean to use the word closet (at the closet door) or was it supposed to be closest.

    1. I did indeed mean closet, Gabrielle, to imply hiding the true materialistic self by having a storage space for purses. It came to me after recalling something I saw on some idiotic entertainment spot detailing Lindsay Lohan’s hoarding rooms that were full of shoes, clothes and yes PURSES! lol LOL about the dogs having legs. There lives exhaust me when I hear about them, no wonder they are so screwed up…of course, I could TRY to be that rich and screwed up for a while. 😉

    1. LOL Brad, hmmm, I suppose any available space that would ensure they received some space in the tabloids. Yeah, a dog purse card holder…perhaps on the rhinestone studded collar.

  3. I dont keep up with that kind of thing. This doesnt make me want to.
    Who can blame them a little dog is kind of like Don King’s hair .It is a distraction ,it is power .
    A barking purse. lol

    1. Oh yeah, sure sure Mark, I’ll bet you read the Enquirer on the sly when no one is looking! You are absolutely right about it being like Don King’s hair too, but of course I only know about him through a friend, I never kept up with that type of thing. 😉

      1. lol

        Hey I dont watch television and I dont really read any magazines except sometimes National Geographic and Smithosonian on rare occasions.

        I am just as ignorant of imporant things too.

        I have a Bad Romance with pop culture. Ra ma oh lala, ga ga oh la la my bad romance!-thats different 🙂

      2. LOL Don’t worry Mark, I won’t tell Lady GaGa you’re pretending not to know her!

Leave a Reply

