The Leaving Touch

You became small and merged into the distance
standing fragile and alone wearing your blues
I watched until I memorized your still life
that vast unknowable I salvaged for you
that you deemed impossible to live with
worthless
and at unguarded moments I saw the subtle cues you gave yourself
to keep the future hidden
in the swells of a tide that would take you away
until I became small and merged into your distance

Soul of my soul
you can’t draw a line in sand that washes away
the words of undying love
for something or someone
that never stood or fell
like a banal remark to the shifting eye
viewing clouds of sand built to sway
like castles for fools in the sky

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “The Leaving Touch”

    1. I’m sorry you’ve been away too and the fact that you are back has put a smile on my face too medicatedlady. see———->:) It pleases me immensely that you liked this poem. It’s a catharsis I’ve been going through and you know me, I share that shit. hugs

  1. castration 🙂 just joking. This is very evocative and sad. The opening two lines really set the stage in such a powerful way. I like the shift in tone and focus as you go to the second section.

    1. LOLOLOLOL Gabrielle. :0 It’s sad but I hope it has a resounding drum roll at the end to announce that this episode is finished for me. Looking back one last time more like gently closing a door rather than slamming it shut.

    1. Thank you Dhyan 🙂 From the cradle to the grave, don’t we learn some harsh lessons and don’t they always lead us to the best destination, whether we think it at the time or not. The waves on the sand, yes, sometimes tender like a tiny trickle or a horrendous tidal wave that wipes out everything, except the sand, which allows the power of the tide to carry and move it, rather than fight a battle it lacks the strength to win. 🙂

    1. If I’m an eleven, then you are too Mark. That poem you wrote today, Lucy, has stayed with me. Seriously good stuff it is. 🙂

  2. I like this structure, specifically the italics and the bold. At first, I thought they were two different poems, and maybe in the beginning they were, but they flow together so nicely that it completes the imagery of “merging” and “melding.”

    I’ll add two more “elations,” “desolation” and “reincarnation.” This conjures real images of the ever-evolving cycle of life… we rise up from the world’s ocean of energy like the crest of a wave and then descend/wash back into it when our journey ends. So, the sea is from where we come and where we return, in a metaphorical, Buddhist sense.

    Really, really nice, Val. I could go on and on with this one because it resonates on so many levels. Honestly, this is my favorite Val poem.

    1. Tel, you are one very clever cookie! It was originally one poem but I felt I had to split it up to reinforce the the movement from one place in time to another and one person to another. I like your ations! Particularly reincarnation as It is my system of knowing and belief. The sea is the perfect metaphor for what I was driving at in my own life walk and of course it is a shared experience. The embracing of change so we may learn how to love. Birth…love…death. Then, lucky us, we get to do it all over again! lol Thank you Tel, for your comments, they are always insightful and eloquent and they only enhance what I try to say.

Leave a Reply

