HuMan Waste

flip it up
side down
launch those words like rockets
into the empty angry sky
hate sweats itself from every pore
toxic soul waste piling up
year
after
year
bitter days strung together with tears
until yesterday
becomes something we view
through the narrow slit of now
by the fading light of the setting forgetting sun

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “HuMan Waste”

  1. Val this is simply amazing.
    I have to agree with Mark on the favorite line:
    “through the narrow slit of now” -shivers-
    When you publish, which I’m sure you will, I want a signed copy.

    Bravo!

    1. Tell you what Imperfect Servant, this may be a case of my reach exceeding my grasp, but if/when I get that sweet contract in my hand and the book is on the shelf, I have added you to my list of signed original copies. The support writers give each other is vital to success and it’s good to have you slip in the door of my blog. Thank you for your kind words. 🙂

  2. Just wanted to tell you that I found this poem fantastic, it is great val, it is strong and to me it seems very honest and real. It shows is like it.
    About the content, I can tell you is great.
    Let me do a briefing of it: hate/anger along with an attempt of expresion/liberation from them. Finally a movment, change.
    Love you val, take care and keep being brave

    1. Big huge hugs Mariana! It’s good to see your here and thank you for reading and appreciating what I was doing with the words to express something we all deal with at one time or another in our lives. Love you too sweetie and you know me, I fight the good fight always. 🙂

    1. Dhyan, you also rock my dear, but then we have been each other over at your blog, so as one is so is the other LOL Hmmm, that is a very universal god connected way of thinking isn’t it?

      1. White colour remaining Dhyan and you have the sort of spirit that cannot be stilled, even if I am you and you are me and we are all together…I am also the Walrus coocookachoo lol 😉

  3. P.T. Barnum has got nothing on you.
    All this book hype has got me dizzy you know ,like trying to keep up with 3 rings.
    Yeah I know your game 🙂 .
    Seriously ,it looks like you have been riding the barrel back over the falls again.Its only castles burning.

    This is a wonderful poem and so very true.
    You let them win when you dwell on it.

    Hard to say my favourite line but it is probably the “narrow slit of now”.

    1. My one HUGE regret Mark, is that I’ve always allowed angry people who have populated my life, to push my buttons and pull me down in that gutter with them. Left to my own devices, I’m peaceful and avoid the chain yanking crap that permeates too many lives. Age is good, because if you let them and you are lucky enough to get them, the years make clear those things that really matter. Eventually, the idiots and their idiocy fade into the background. Life should be about laughter, love and peace and not one thing more. Now, if only I could get some of P.T. Barnums cashish, then I could breathe easier. lol Thank you Mark, for appreciating this poem.

  4. Wow, very powerful and I take it from the title (which I love) that it’s not about you 🙂 I have met a few people who this poem describes. ‘toxic soul waste piling up’ is a terrific description.

    1. This just came Gabrielle, from a place that is somewhere we’ve all been. Most anger is toxic human waste and yes, much of it is from men. When I was a kid, my father liked to punch holes in walls and we had some pictures place at some odd angles in our various homes. Perhaps this is an ode to him and some others who have polluted the lives of peaceful people.

Leave a Reply

