Evicted

What was that jazz you told me?
about that house
where you used to live
you know
the place with the porch near the subway station
the one you hated to leave
because of all the forget-me-nots in the yard
that some kid planted years before you got there
punctuating the patch and scratch brown lawn
with sapphire expressions
starlight questions in the middle of the day
when a robust uniform
tacked a paper to the door
and your old man went into a frenzy
for all of ten minutes
until he found that half empty bottle of soothing five star
and your mother said
courage is a maker
Now kid,
get out those garbage bag suitcases
we’ve got some serious packing to do
Yeah that’s what you told me.
Didn’t you forget the cat that time too?
I guess they don’t evict cats

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “Evicted”

  1. I really really like this one, Val. It does have a jazzy kind of feel..like the depression era writings during the 1920s, but still applies to today. “punctuating the patch and scratch brown lawn
    with sapphire expressions”
    very cool line…probably my favorite in this poem..

    1. Thank you Lisa πŸ™‚ I like that you feel a depression era vibe in this poem and the line you like is the one I wasn’t certain would work. Apparently it did, which just goes to show, it’s good when I don’t interfere with whatever is being given to me from the great beyond.

  2. you are on fire Val! love that sapphire and starlight specifics especially! have you ever read Durable Goods by Elizabeth Berg?

  3. Thank you Bryan. I think I’ve mellowed I think about how I deliver what I write as well as allowing the powers that be work through me. I don’t try to control the creation anymore, so if you are noticing anything, it’s my getting my big caboose out of the way and letting the art do it’s thing. Tell you what, I’ll do a podcast of this for you and post it tomorrow okay? hugs πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Dhyan, it was there floating around in the atmosphere and as if fell into my head, it picked up a few of my memories and added them to the mix until Voila! We have this. I’m certain there are more and more people in the world experiencing this scenario as the economic collapse deepens and destroys lives. I stuck the cat in there, because, it shows how animals in many ways are smarter than we are and fly under the radar of human bullshit when it hits the fan.

      1. It is absolutely the best way Dhyan. It’s weird, but I find when I’m emotional I can’t write when the inertia sets in. Calm and detached, or shutting off the conscious mind is when it really flows and it’s actually quite endless. I like what you’ve said “then pour through you and into the paper.” Perfect!

  4. Very sad:( I like the way the jazzy relaxed way of writing contrasts and therefore emphasises the tragedy of the whole situation (and that it probably happened more than once). Good one Val.

    1. Thank you Gabrielle πŸ™‚ Once again this came from that mystical place that houses all the art, and after I read it, I realized how much of this I could apply to my own life. This did happen to me as a kid, more than once and yes I had the garbage bag suitcase, however, the rest is purely imagination which in my experience means it happened to someone else I’ve never met and probably never will. The truth dresses up like many things so it will be acknowledged I think.

    1. Thank you Kseverny! It just popped out like one side of a conversation and it makes it more personal and real I think.

Leave a Reply

