An Icon With Clay Feet That Kick

Just wanted to post a small portion of a documentary that opens up the internal workings of a renowned poet and an icon to many writers. This is an interesting slice of the loaf that is Bukowski. Children should NOT watch this!

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “An Icon With Clay Feet That Kick”

  1. feet of clay indeed.
    but you know what i dont like people laughing at me either and if i had the money i could hire me a ………..

    I,me,mine

    in vino veritas
    or as grandaddy said,” dont nuthin come out of a man that aint in him”

    1. I think your Grandaddy was a wonderful man Mark and wise in the ways that matter. Yes, in vino veritas indeed! 🙂

  2. Very clay feet but he wrote some wonderful poems. ‘The Genius of the Crowd’ and ‘To The Whore Who Took My Poems’ are classics that speak deeply to the nature of creativity.

    1. Yes Mr. Squires, he did write down some wonderful poetry and by posting this I was trying to convey that it’s the ‘work’ which is important, rather than the flawed human being recording it for posterity. The world has a new religion, the worship of other humans based on something they do outside of who they really are. I think it’s a great deal like worshiping a shadow while ignoring the substantial character casting it. Personally, I don’t believe any art originates in this material dimension we’re in, I think we are given the creations to deliver to everyone else for spiritual growth purposes. 🙂 I also feel that it’s a sacred trust we’re given and if it’s exploited for self serving reasons, then that can’t be good for the artist and inspiration or connection, dries up.

      1. I really like what you say here about worshiping a shadow.
        This video
        (I dont know how I came across it ,it could have been from you)
        speaks of genius and genies . Anyway I know you probably dont have time to look at it but it is interesting and what you said called it to mind.

        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86x-u-tz0MA

      2. Mark, THIS is exactly why writers and creative people in general have to talk with one another about the creative process and I’m going to put this video up now as a follow up to the Bukowski video. I have of course heard of Elizabeth Gilbert but I’ve never seen this video before and I watched it just now. I’m happy that someone as high profile as Elizabeth is exposing the facts behind the business of writing and all art. Thank you Mark, this was brilliant of you to show me.

Leave a Reply

