Hair Story

Unruly
a mop atop
my head
curly
wavy
a shrew head of hair
a mess
tangled
gnarled
dishevelled
sassy
cowlicked
wild
an argument eternal
distress of the tress
straighten
steam
flatten
dream
comb
brush
mousse
fuss
tug it
tie it
clamp it
dry it
fix it,
braid it
pony tail it
Oh,fuck it
my stubborn curly, wavy, costly, mane, a bane of my adolescence, source of adult aggravation, never-split-ending crown of thorning glory, make me late for work, inhairited follicle tragedy that is still My damn curly HAIR.

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

24 thoughts on “Hair Story”

  1. LOL… I had to leave Southern France because I overstayed my Visa. 😀

    Yes, I went on a family trip to Moosonee, the furtherest point north I’ve ever been. It was quite a trip: drive until you cant’drive anymore, train until you can’t train anymore, and, then of all things, get in a canoe and go over to an island! I loved the experience, though.

    1. Ah, Oui! That is nearly the same reason I had to leave the US…well that and the staying alive thing. Long story. You sound as if you had a blast on your trip! I LOVE canoeing and if you haven’t been to Algonquin Park, you absolutely must go to do some portaging. The Laurentians in Quebec are spectacular too if you ski or hike. It sounds as if between us you and I have conquered all forms of transport lol

  2. I have been to Montreal, Niagara, and Moosonee. Of them, Montréal was my favorite, but Toronto was fun, too. I lived in the Languedoc-Roussillon (Montpellier, Nîmes), the neighbor to Provence. I think both would suit you. Le Midi, it’s the ultimate fantasy.

    1. Holy gawd Tel, you were in Moosonee? A place I know a bit, used to go to Moose Factory back in the day when I was young and didn’t mind being a black fly supper. lol Montreal is a wonderful town, the best in Canada in my opinion and I’m a Toronto gal. You have lived my dream Tel, to live in Provence. Why in hell did you ever leave it? Le Midi sounds beyond heavenly and I will make it my mission to see it before they turn my carcass to ashes. 🙂

  3. It’s not so much me as my Jamaican that needs to adjust, but even he’s ready. I vote for French-Canada or France.

    1. Ah oui Tel, Quebec! The French are all around this country you know, not just in Quebec. My family are Acadians from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick and just off the shore of this province are two little islands, St. Pierre et Michelon, both belonging to France! Have you ever been to Montreal? If not, you would simply love it. 🙂 As for me, my secret fantasy is to be a rich and famous author living out my days in Provence. Yeah, I know I do have a rich fantasy life. lol

    1. Oh it’s sassy hair alright, and ornery as hell too. I like the way you say eh Tel lol We’ll make a canuck out of you yet southern man 🙂

      1. LOL I hear ya Tel, but damn! It’s cold up here. If you can get past that, then a canuck you can be. I’m proud of our society up here Tel, we are progressive and tolerant and we don’t have as many hangups as other countries.

    1. Only someone belonging to the curly wavy hair club would laugh like that B, lol So, how long have you hated your hair? Hmmmmmm? hahahahaa

  4. did you have the product No More Tangles? That was the bane of my childhood! I join the wavy head club I think 🙂

    1. Oh yes Jessie, we had No More Tangles, Tame, Vaseline Hair Tonic, Conditioner of every sort but it NEVER worked. You are now a comb carrying member of the curly wavy hair club! lol Oh, the suffering of it all!

  5. LOL – delightful way of expressing the source of so much of our agony! Can relate to quite a few of those adjectives you put forth!!

    1. I will add you to my new club, the curly sisters and curly brothers! LOL It sucks, it just suck to have to fight with it every damn day.

    1. LOL kseverny, I’ve done that a bunch of times, but now I’m going to grow out my mess of curls and get over my life long feud with the follicles.

    1. Gabrielle, I gladly call you my curly sister! Oh, it is a misery, the vacillation between the fight against the curl, and the reluctanct acceptance. lol

      1. Gabrielle honey, lets look at our hair in a positive light: We won’t need to go get the curly perm every month at the stylists! Just a blue rinse lol I hear you about the humidity. I live by the sea and it’s pointless to straighten it when five minutes later after a walk outside it’s back to frizzhead again. Ahhhhh

      2. Ha,ha, – not the blue rinse – aaghh! I don’t even bother with the hairdresser since moving to the sea – just tie it back all the time and wear strange bandannas and hats.

Leave a Reply

