My New Religion Is…

Thinking up meaningless items to post here when I don’t have time or don’t have the gamma to give you poetry. You see, I had another one of those thinking days that actually bled into two days, beginning at approximately 9:32 am yesterday. I know this, because I was dusting a table and on that table stood a clock, and beside that clock were three dolls made in Peru. This is where it all gets very unrelated and becomes….

RUN ON THINKING by Val

Those Peruvian dolls make me think of tropical climates, although it gets damn frosty in the Andes…nevertheless, I’m still thinking about hot climates, which naturally leads me to the bees. You know, honeybees? Well, apparently they are disappearing everywhere and no one knows why, although several theories abound, from some unknown virus or parasite to cell phones. I’m going with the cell phone thing myself. I think the waves are screwing up their ability to find the hive. Our non stop yapping is altering nature? Not laughable really. I once knew a woman who talked incessantly (no not me) about everything from the price of Qtips to how much salt is really in a Big Mac. Anyway, my point is, we need to shut the fuck up. We talk too damn much. Jaysus…Facebook, Myspace, Twitter, Chat roulette, cell phones, iphones, Crackberries, Email, home phone, pagers aaahhhhh! On and on and yet, we don’t really listen to each other. NO ONE listens to anyone. We just yabber yabber yabber all the damn day with a cell phone jammed in our ears. We risk brain cancer and car accidents just to attach that insufferable object to our heads. This brings me to cigarettes. Cell phones are the new cigarette. Don’t believe me? Watch when people use them. I used to smoke, so I know what I’m talking about when we are discussing ball and chain social behavior. They take them out like a pack of cigarettes, flip them open like a pro smoker would tap out a cancer stick and they do it when they are: meeting someone new, on a break, in the car at a stop light, bored, nervous, self conscious and, the most telling time of all: when someone else lights up…err…I mean flips it open. Hmmm causes cancer too but people are so addicted to the constant contact that isn’t really contact at all that they go into denial of brain tumors the way smokers do with lung cancer. There. And all this from two Peruvian dolls on a table. 😉

Now wouldn't you rather look at this? Better than a cell phone eh? 😉

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “My New Religion Is…”

    1. Thank you Dr. B! I wish you and your family a wonderful Easter holiday in return. I promise to keep on writing, as long as you keep on telling such wonderful stories! 🙂

  1. Sometimes, line breaks and other tools of the trade can get rather monotonous. I agree with Bryan, this is poetry, but in its own right. I also agree with Gabrielle, it’s certainly hardly meaningless. And that photo? Gorgeous… it looks like the big beautiful Kentucky sun that’s rising over the mountains right now.

    1. That is the nicest compliment anyone has ever given me regarding a photo I’ve taken. Thank you Tel! I suppose, the beauty of poetry is its malleable character. Even one small tweek or adjustment can completely alter the tone and/or perspective of a poem. Thank you for seeing the initial vision I had for this one. 🙂

  2. Funny that Bryan read it as a poem cause I totally think it is a prose poem! And I’d probably consider a slightly revised version for Referential hehe Reading for all of April and taking art etc!!!

  3. LOL Oh Bryan Honey baby, LOLOLOL but dahling my mind is NOT this organized nor is the form this clean therefore it detracts from the poetic truth I was trying to convey. Val’s erratic inner monologue is senseless when different sections are read alone, but when read breathlessly in a frenzy, it goes full circle. Sort of like that crazy auntie everyone has in their family. She never gets the names straight, but she knows everyone’s birthday and age. I think I’m also good at removal don’t you? ;0 Even when I do it out loud. Thank you for loving my insanity and crazy auntie chatter. HUGS

  4. Hahahahahaha
    I fucking love this! But then I dig this kind of writing..Ya know, I think you’re on to something here, what it is, I’m not sure.

    Say where are my smokes anyway?
    Flip flip..uh, I mean, click, click…….AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    1. Hey B…smoke smoke smoke that cigarette…lol Thank you, I think you are also on to something here, what it is I might know, but I’m not saying. Now get off the fucking phone! You’re killing all the bees on my blog dear man. 🙂 Missed ya amigo and it’s always good to see you in here.

  5. I think when you got up there in the Andes you should have stayed a while.

    My friend across the way added 5 hives last year.
    Cell phones dont work that great around here but wait there is a new tower.
    Better stock up on honey.

    1. NOOOOOOOOOOO it’s cold in the Andes! Worse than here! And anyway mark, I read that book ‘Alive’ when I was twelve, you know the novel where the soccer team ate each other to survive? Scarred me for life and gave me a fear of snow covered mountains forever. I would stock up on that honey, no shit, this is true, I believe it and I don’t believe anything. 🙂

  6. I think this is a great post – hardly meaningless ans stunning photo. I do the same thing with the run on thoughts – gets me into all sorts of trouble. I no longer have a mobile phone. I lost it and haven’t replaced it (I used it only for emergencies). Can’t stand the way people have a mobile phone permanently glued to their ears and who answer it no matter where they are (even in the toilet).

    1. Thank you Gabrielle! I think some crazy ass stuff sometimes and I filtered this, trust me honey. lol I left out a few things that make no sense at all. I’m happy you like the photo. I took that last August in the park here and the sweet little bug posed for all he was worth. I love the critters, bugs, mammals, birds, fish etc. I hate my cell phone so much that when it rings my gut constricts. I long for the day I can toss it into the sea and watch it shatter into a million pieces on the rocks below. Hmmm that sure sounds diabolical lol

Leave a Reply

