The Philistine And The Square Peg

The day was sweltering and humid

And all were jacked up on the condition of

Hot air briefings in the anteroom prior

To some rantings in the blackboard room

Philistines all

A club of sorts

With secret sessions, lingo, jargon and doublespeak

The precision of the jabs sent across the room were determined by

Letters of the alphabet

P

H

D

M

A

B

S

C

B

A

L

L

B

Eventually the talk turned to the puzzle none could solve

How the hell do you go about putting a square peg in a round hole?

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “The Philistine And The Square Peg”

  1. Ha,ha,ha,ha! I love this Val – you are so right and I hate those type of meetings (long behind me these days and never to return to). I popped over from Maekitso. We have CRAFTs disease here in Australia and in fact I suffer from it regularly.

    1. LOL Thanks Gabrielle and thank you so much for stopping in and leaving some of your words. Yep, CRAFT is getting to be a daily occurrence for me too. I’ve read your comments on Brad’s blog and they’re always interesting and funny. It’s a treat to have you visit. I put you on my blog roll with Brad (major cool Canaussie dude) and the other wonderful Aussie writers I’ve been very fortunate to read. 🙂

  2. Actually, this sounds like those boring, godawful team meetings I would have to sit through from time to time where they would talk for hours and have nothing to say. Putting the square peg in the round hole reminded me even more so of it…some of that shit made absolutely no sense to me sometimes. I guess that’s why I am not a CEO.

    1. Actually Lisa, you have hit the philistine directly on the square head! It is indeed about BULLSHIT lol The more qualified the person the dumber and more full of shit they become and you are so damn correct, they could bore sloth into a coma. Oddly, they usually all hate each other but can’t wait to get together for these things! Fucked up to the enth degree.

      1. I think the worst part isn’t trying to fit the square peg into the round hole..it’s why they’d even want to do something so asinine in the first place. Then, in order to make it sound like something was accomplished, they assign some stupid acronym to name their project..like…well, CRAFT sounds about right. They can’t assign the name of it in one meeting,though..they have to have several meetings to debate about it. Ugh..I’m already worn out..

      2. LOLOLOL Lisa, yes the acronyms from hell. There is always another meeting, steering committee and pot to stir. There are people who love fucking around so much they dedicate whole calendar years to the art of yapping and accomplishing zilch. Reminds me of a Groucho Marx line ” I wouldn’t want to belong to any club that would have me as a member.” Insert eyebrow raises and cigar wiggles where applicable. 🙂

  3. I dont want to appear ignorant but its probably a little late for worrying about that anyway.
    could you please help me with the signifigance of the letters?
    you know how I like everything to be neat and orderly with no room for confusion 🙂 .

    1. Absolutely Mark and you are far from ignorant! I deliberately wrote it this way because I wanted it to be confusing. I was trying to illustrate the over thinking of people with letters attached to their names. This was actually written in praise of common sense, something that over education destroys. There, neat, orderly and intentional confusion for the sake of art! 🙂

      1. good i was on board.
        this PLS (professional licensed surveyor) has a BA in mathematics but is known more for his affliction of CRS( as evidenced by the magic marker writing on his left hand).

Leave a Reply

