Recollections of an antidisestablishmentarian…or a once disgruntled bitch on a mission

Within the twilight thinking hours

between two and four am

I recall in dreams the many incarnations of life as me

An eternal breadline somewhere in Washington state

waiting in the heat of noon time sun for the handout

to illegals like me

with an empty stomach and hollow eyes

clinging tightly to my friend with the baby

as the skin heads spit their threats

in our colourful Indian, White and Hispanic faces

We wiped the caustic hate away with been here before sighs

and laughed our hungry wolf stomachs into submission

A mouth filled with gasoline soaked gravel and the heart and body bruises

to rival a pugilist down for the final count

Dust, the wild west backdrop

making pain clouds in the wake of a lunatic’s truck

The hater of love punching and dashing away

with an innocent’s raindrop tears rolling back to me in torrents

A woodshed where I buried hate with an axe and a cord of wood

forever splitting that which would never be burned away

the desire for ashes and a phoenix saviour to tell me how

to take the dogs of war out of my raging middle ground

the red eyed hell hound always taunting me

from the flaming perimeter fed

by the fire of a monster’s cold heart

A park bench next to tomorrow’s cold case

swigging stolen Walgreens Brut

down that toothless hatch sliding snake eyes in my direction

Sizing me up for knocking me down and out

Between us

a coveted sally ann suitcase special

I lugged around with nothing in it but pictures of a little girl lost

no one seeking to find but me

a non existent woman drowning in the indifferent belly of America

next to Denny’s

where I hear they serve lovely apple pie on Mother’s Day

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

10 thoughts on “Recollections of an antidisestablishmentarian…or a once disgruntled bitch on a mission”

    1. Thanks Dhyan, those happen to be the lines that made me hurt the most and I agree with you about their merit. πŸ™‚

    1. I hear ya Jessie and that pie made me salivate a couple of times. Alas, Denny’s apple pie and my palate were to remain strangers forever. 😦

    1. Thanks Kseverny, after I wrote it I saw about a dozen things I wanted to change, but I left it as is because it was true in a simple way. Sometimes keeping it simple keeps it pure. I appreciate your comments and your visits are always wonderful to see. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Dean, but lets not forget the grime, that was all over everything. I wonder if that skank on the next bench is still there? Probably doing the dine and dash at Denny’s…I appreciate the blue sky comment. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

