Chances are…

There is a cat up a tree somewhere

and Johnny Mathis is trying to lure it down with a ballad

while the lady in blue hair watches from the front row

he sounds like velvet vinyl

singing like a platter in a powder blue suit

breathing simultaneously through his nose as he sings

he said so a long time ago when I was nine and he was a guest on the Tonight Show

when I should have been tucked in, fast asleep like a little angel

but instead I watched the two Johnny’s fake laugh

their way through my father’s drunken Friday night

Who said T.V. isn’t educational?

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “Chances are…”

  1. that just cracked me up πŸ™‚
    made me think back to how much my siblings and i used to like to dance when hee haw came on. ah we could redneck it up!

    -shipped paper house yesterday!!!

    1. Jessie girl, you and I have probably had some of the same experiences, in fact I guarnadamtee it and yes we could redneck it up in fine style honey bee! *sigh* Okay, I’ll keep waiting for my Paper House…which means I have to wait sooooooo long to do a video for it. 😦

      1. i’m so excited you are going to do a video! sorry it took me a bit to get it out in the mail!!

      2. Okay, now my plans are all flucked up Jessie! Today I’m going to do a video for Bryan and Dean Baker. Then….YOU get one all to yourself when it gets here! Everyday I was looking in my mail, then the tag on the door but that was another book I ordered. I’m dejected, but that dejection will turn to jubilation when I have Paper House in my hot little video maker hands! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Paul, I’m glad it made you laugh. Back then, with the din of alcoholic people in the background, the fake laughing johnnys were preferable.

  2. I like it a lot that you have respect for the classics. I would like to invite you to check out 1markt.wordpress.com and see if at least one man is at least able to grasp and respect womanhood and her ability to give and love.

    1. Hi Marcus, Thank you for reading and like this poem. Mathis was and is a wonderful artist. I’ll make my way over to your blog and read, it’s always wonderful to find new poets or to have new poets find me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

