THE SITTER

He tries to situate his bottom line

into a solid position

in the tight hot seat of academia

He does his accommodating shifts

He twists his perspective

He turns around the entire situation

He crams for all he is worth

Finally, he is snug and sitting pretty

But deep down he is only too aware

He doesn’t really fit in that chair

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “”

    1. Yeah yeah, just like a Bindo, always changin’ his friggin’ mind! LOL I knew you couldn’t help yourself, you had to start talking commenting again hehehe, and it’s WONDERFUL to have you back among the living dead B. Missed ya.

  1. It’s sort of like academia is more about position than the “work” in the area. Whatever gets more attention and seduces those in power until they get in power. I’ve experienced the wrath of said academia personnel and they can really go fuck themselves. I give some academics credit…I’ve worked with some truly genuine people.

    1. I agree ML, position is always the coveted prize and all the phony trappings that go along with it. LOL I like that spittin’ fire thing you did: they can really go fuck themselves. Now THAT is what I’m talking about here, and somehow I knew you swim the other way from this shit. I agree, there are some genuine people, but as an outsider, I think they are seriously repressed by their professional situations and that is tragic.

  2. Great truth shaped by a beautiful poem.
    Academia seems such an important word, but once you get in that system, even in the most prestigious institutions you realize there is lots of bureaucracy, unfair rules, mediocre stuff and more things you did never expected to see from the outside. You realize there is not much difference between Academics and Private companies idiosyncrasy once you demystify the first one.
    Take care Val.

    1. Thank you Mariana, as a non academic, self educated individual, I completely agree with you regarding your comparison to a private company. You always zero in on what is really being said. HUGS

    1. There are so many people in that world Jessie, who are better than those who are above them. In a way, it’s being professionally trapped.

  3. Thank you Val, that’s excellent! I’ll look see between now and tomorrow. It’s 9.10pm, Tuesday, on my island right now and I want to watch and listen to you without having to go do something else this evening. I know you are a very direct nobullshit person but here’s the thing – you have compassion patience and a mighty big heart.. and you help others. Your constant and enduring efforts to break down gender barriers that frustrate and distress so many writers who are looking for a fair chance to have their work published, is inspiring and courageous, and in my book your motivation, your action, is exemplary! 🙂

    thanks, Val,
    John

  4. Ohhh my! – this is amazing.. beautifully structured… cleverly said… and totally true!
    I love it. Your poetry never wastes any words. Each gem is cut and fixed into perfect position.
    Val, it’s such a privilege to read your poetry… as well as your dissertations and ‘conversations’ in all of your comment boxes on your pages. I wish I lived nearer. Your thoughts enrich me… and I would guess that your personality, outside this screen (listen to me tapping the glass to greet you), is exactly what I ‘feel’ it to be, through your writing. I only wish I could also hear you reading your poems…. ye gods! that would be even more icing on your wonderful cake here!

    Thanks,
    John
    🙂

    1. Thank you John, it’s good to know what I write has meaning for others. I’ve got a couple of videos up here of me reading some poetry, if you get bored and have five minutes to fritter away lol And yes, what you read, see is all there is, I’m a very direct no bullshit kind of person. 🙂

    1. Sort of kseverny, it’s about academics with a fat head lol I was thinking about a house party I attended a couple of years ago. There were a lot of university types there, academics who were so in love with the sound of their own voices they didn’t notice they were all talking to themselves. Within this atmosphere I wondered how many of them actually wanted to be there, or how many truly felt they fit in, hence the fat arse in the seat of academia. I’ve got another brewing about a guy I met at this same party. I post it tomorrow. By the way, I still have no idea why I was invited, I am as non academic as a human being can be. Unless of course you are discussing the real world, then I’m very well educated, in fact I’ve got a PhD in that.

Leave a Reply

