Activity

In the neighbouring cities of Hello and Goodbye

Live two people named You and I

The space between is our impasse

Where we relive our dirty past



Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

32 thoughts on “”

  1. MMMMM. Between Hello and Goodbye….good line. Impasse is a good choice. Good work.

    Makes me think maybe every relationship is between hello and goodbye. Specific relationships, of course, stall between the two.

    1. No doubt ML, I like that, ‘stall between the two’…never a truer word has been spoken dear girl. Thank you for reading this and liking it so much. hugs

    1. If this blog is vibrant and alive John, it is because of all you who visit, read and take the time to chat about the art. You are all wonderful writers and people. 🙂

    1. LOL Lisa, yeah the dirty past should stay there, I agree. Thank you and where the heck have you been keeping yourself? HUGS

  2. hi Val.. I love your poetry and your amazing blog. You do so much for me and for others and I want to pass on an award to you for all your support and caring and loving encouragement to writers and poets and especially all you do to try to get a level playing field and to promote gender equality – Bravo in all of your efforts and actions! … please stop by and collect the award dear friend – thanks 🙂

    John
    http://poettraveler.wordpress.com/2010/03/13/cross-culture-award/

    1. Thank you John, I appreciate the award and I’m mosey on over to your blog to check out your writing as well. It pleases me that you like what you read here and your visits are always a lovely surprise. 🙂

    1. Kseverny, the people who live between the two duck a lot lol I think they also live in those houses you’ve been constructing on your blog. I absolutely love those houses you make, they are brilliant.

  3. i agree so much in so little space.

    u reminded me of one i wrote a really long time ago like that

    you plan to do that
    you plan to do this
    the longer you wait
    the more you miss

    🙂

      1. fourth grade you was very smart Ms. Jessie, but that is not surprising because you are exceptionally intelligent and talented now! 🙂

      2. 4th grade was a strange year for me. i spent part of the year being a real a-hole and actually getting notes sent home. why was i an a-hole? in part because my parents starting divorce proceedings the summer before and in second part because i wasn’t placed into the smart reading group so i hated my teacher.

        we were given a new teacher mid year and she was the one who did things like the poetry projects (which the mentioned poem came from). i was a less jerk of a child even though i had to sit at the front of the class so i could squint at the board cause i needed classes 🙂

      3. Fourth grade Jessie was stressed Jessie if you ask me. When I was in fourth grade…ah, just read Wilson Park on this blog lol I went to a Catholic school as a kid, full of upper middle class brats, then home to the housing project and all the white trash one could ever hope to meet. Oh god honey bee, you and I could so do coffee, shoot the shit.

      4. Jessie girl, you know that’s true! After we finish we would rearranged the rights and wrongs on this planet I’ll bet lol I think, we would laugh our arses off. 🙂

  4. oh yeah .
    sad faces painted over with those magazine smiles
    dreamboat annie heart

    standstill

    in the big cities of now and the past
    live the strangers us and them
    they say enough, we say too much
    it is the same today as it was then

    1. Your poem is an interesting contrast to mine with a broader social meaning. Thank you Mark! Dream Boat Annie is a fantastic song, lyrically and musically. It’s got a ripping acoustic intro. 🙂

      1. it made me think of dream boat annie instantly and that is big stuff to me.
        ( i like the banjo part too)

        I love your poem.

    1. Thank you Tel, I was scrubbing out a tub when this came to me lol Bathtubs are my new muse. I have no idea what it means but I actually wrote an alternate last line “Where we throw rocks at houses of glass” which do you think is better?

      1. I like the sordidness of the line you have in it already, although I like the reference to houses of glass, too. If I had to chose, I’d keep it how it is. When I read it, it made me think of the divisions that still exist in the States long after the Civil War. When Obama was elected president, my dad said, after looking at an election map, “You know, all the states that voted for McCain, they’re the pretty stupid ones, like South Carolina, Tennessee. The whole south was lit up in red.” Of course, Kentucky was red, too, so I felt it was a fair statement for him to make, but it shows, both visually and, by the words he used, psychologically, how those divisions continue today.

      2. This is exactly one of the references I was intending Tel. I was thinking about how family division begins the avalanche of social and political division. Those divisions are not unbridgeable and the election in your country proved this. Time will tell if we can be colour blind on this planet, without trying to water down the cultures of other people. Thank you for understanding my focus on this. I agree about the last line, it would change the entire poem if I were to use the alternate. 🙂

    1. Thank you Mariana, sometimes I just write these simple little poems to discipline myself. I can be a verbose writer and these wee poems temper that very bad habit. HUGS and love back to you dearest friend of mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

