Six

I haven’t thought of you intentionally

for years

The knowing why is relevant only to those present

I haven’t looked in your eyes that witnessed my pain

for years

The memory is owned by just us two

I haven’t talked to your corrupted soul

for years

The sound of your silent conscience is loud enough

I haven’t wished you dead and gone

for years

Because I’ve rendered your obscenity insignifant to my life

I’m no longer six

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

15 thoughts on “Six”

    1. Thanks Dhyan and yes I’m more or less whole inside now, with a few dings and dents here and there. I’m so happy you saw the evolution/unfolding I was attempting.

  1. Bryan, I think that pretty much sums up the life experience on this planet. I’m always in the midst of some sort of or as mêlée, or as you so accurately put it, revolution. HUGS

    1. Indeed it does kseverny. Sometimes growing up is our best weapon. 🙂 Thank you for appreciating this.

  2. Val, your strength shines through every time. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again… You are such an inspiration to me, and to women everywhere. Thank you for being brave enough to put your story out there, in poetry and prose *love and hugs* Janine

    1. Janine, this means a great deal, you seeing worth in my openness. HUGS and thank you for your encouragement.

    1. Thanks Dark Lord, hopefully we all get here at some point in our lives. It’s good to be finished with the messy painful business of life.

    1. It’s like mining down deep in the cold dark earth sometimes isn’t it Jessie, but the result is damn cathartic and meaningful to others. Paper House is brilliant you know, just brilliant. 🙂 hugs

      1. i just heard that the final proof of Paper House was approved so it should be shipping to the publisher soon! I’m guessing pre-order is gonna be over pretty soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

