Something I Want To Tell You…

Not long ago many of us were deeply affected by the horrific disaster in Haiti.   Naturally, as a writer it moved me creatively and I wrote a poem designed to stimulate the love and compassion muscles in those who read it.  The idea was to inspire the readers of this blog to open their souls and wallets and give something to help those suffering and struggling to survive.  After a while,  I submitted it to Annmarie Lockhart over at Voxpoetica, who in turn urged me to  send it along to Lisa Marie Basile, the editor of The Caper Journal. I did and she has given me the honour of appearing  in an upcoming print journal she is producing called VWA, or Voice in kreyòl.  The Brilliance behind this idea, is to use our words  to raise money that will assist the survivors of the Quake in Haiti.  I cannot tell you how very grateful I am to both Annmarie and Lisa Marie for allowing me to contribute my poetry to a cause that could possibly feed, heal or soothe another human being.  What more could a writer desire, than to have their work used in such a noble and caring way?  I’m terribly humbled and in that spirit I ask those who read this blog regularly as well as the sporadic visitors who slip in through the door for a curious look around, to please bookmark the Caper Journal website and when VWA goes on sale, I urge you to buy a copy. You never know, your purchase may save a life.  Thank you good friends and scribes, may your day be filled with brilliance.   🙂

*I would also like to mention that a wonderful poet Tel Mcgaha is  part of this project as a contributor of his poetic talent.  Once again, please help us to help those who are unable to make this request for themselves.  Your karma will thank you. 🙂

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

23 thoughts on “Something I Want To Tell You…”

    1. VWA should be on sale soon Lisa, if you are interested in buying a copy from Caper Journal 😉 I’m honoured Lisa Marie chose me to be included because I’m all about the giving someone a leg up and a hand…I’ve been down there, nuff said.

  1. Great work for a great cause! Lisa Marie has taken her many talents and arrayed them all for the service of outreach. And she has assembled some selections of gorgeous writing, her own as well as Val’s and Tel’s. Inspiration sometimes takes the form of heartbreak. It is a mission to transform heartbreak into art. And it’s an act worthy of beatification to take that one step higher and transform art into the alleviation of suffering. You’re all my heroes!

    1. Annemarie, you are precious and thank you for being the very reason I did this. A lot of good will come of this with such a dynamic combination of writers like you, Tel and of course, Lisa Marie, a tremendous fire starter.

  2. so proud of you and Tel! i am one of those poets who can not write on an event as it is happening. i write about things from 10 – 20 etc years ago. wish i had it in me!

    1. Thank you Jessie, sometimes I’m like that too but this was an exception. Perhaps because someone I will never meet needed me to add my words to the VWA project.

    1. Thank you Lisa Marie, you are a very special human being to take this on and make it a reality. This is why I write, to be involved in worthwhile endeavors with gifted people who care. 🙂

    1. This is phenomenal Tel! 🙂 I’ve made adjustments to my post as you can see. I’m honoured to be part of this with you, as I admire your talent immensely.

      1. Thanks, Val. I’m honored. Bindo is right: what greater honor is there than for your words to save a life? I’m chanting that it raises tons of money for Haiti, too.

      2. I’ll chant too Tel, someone on the other side will hear and raise some beautiful people out of their suffering. 🙂

  3. Thanks in advance Bryan, on behalf of the people who will benefit from the sale of this book. You also have a large heart, even if you try to hide it sometimes. 😉 Annmarie is a dynamic woman who is a mentor of the highest order and I adore her. On another note: Are you and medicatedlady going to do that podcast if I do a youtube reading of a couple of my poems? I’ll even try not to say ‘eh’ if you two try not to say ‘y’all. lol Deal? This weekend?

    1. Thank you B and of course I know you will be one of the first to support this little cause right? 😉 By the way amigo, how is the book selling going? Keep hammering away at it and keep the focus.

    1. It’s the brain child of Lisa Marie Basile, a wonderful writer and editor of The Caper Journal. Thanks for being supportive Dark Lord. 🙂

Leave a Reply

