Two Things

First, I just wanted to let you know about a wonderful place on the web that now lists me as a member:  Feminist blogs.

If you have time, take a stroll over there and read some insightful writing by some of the most dynamic feminist writers on the web.

I’ve also written a very short verse that relates to another area of my novel.

*******************************************************

Bruise

Arms I used to protect you

were beaten black and blue

He shoved my face into the dirt

They day he kidnapped you

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

9 thoughts on “Two Things”

  1. congrats for being on feminist blogs and for continuing to tell your story 🙂 i’m hoping to mail out a chapbook to you tomorrow!!!!

  2. Its been so long, I never realized you redesigned your blog.. so this is a pleasant surprise (It always is, to perceive a positive change in the dwelling one frequents, and this is one place I always make a point to visit, whenever I find time to blog!)..

    Congracts on the membership, I’m sure its a huge and well deserved honour. However, I must mention, I’ve never noticed a feminist edge to your writing before.. If I was asked to classify your writing in any one particular genre, I’d probably say they depict more of a classical, and neoliberal style.

    “Bruise” was a powerful composition, had a fiery feel to it from the reader’s p.o.v.

  3. I’ve found that sometimes when reading your poems, I take the critical feminist perspective, which I love. It makes my women in literature class invaluable whenever I read writers like you. Can’t wait to check out the blog.

    1. Thanks Dhyan, I may do what you suggest for segments of the entire story. Right now, I giving myself some heavy duty art therapy by writing the pain away and into a novel. I’m hoping that if I can maintain a certain level of discipline, that it will be completed by March and then I’ll query agents. It is dark and that kidnapped person was my then, Five year old daughter. Sometimes Dhyan, the darkness that enveloped one individual can bring the light to another who can’t see a way out. When I was out there, in a shack, in isolation and confinement, being systematically tortured by a monster, Anne Frank was that individual for me. She helped me stay sane and alive for my child. Her hope gave me hope, her courage gave me courage and yet they were only words on a page. I wasn’t even born when she wrote her diary and how could that lovely beautiful child know, that she would help my little girl and I so many years later? Dark yes, but as Anne Frank knew so well, also light too. 🙂

      1. you know you have me interested val.
        i never read her diary, perhaps i should, perhaps i need not.
        the story which you disclose handbreadth by handbreadth is crazy and i am thankful for you for sharing it. i hope, as you say so many times, that it will also give freshness and trust and healing for you.
        you wrote in my place not long ago – Word can also liberate – yes they do. this should be hang high above every library and every school but its not – too dangerous… keep them high in your heart

        i am looking forward to see on paper..
        D!

      2. Dhyan, READ HER DIARY. 🙂 When I find a publisher, I’m going to send every one of you a copy for free, such is my affection and appreciation to you motley cru of artists. In ways I can’t quite define, you have all given me the balls to write this monster tale. I agree, it is dangerous to say words are liberators, which is why dictators kill the writers and journalists first. More than any other area of the arts, writers can liberate for corrupt, such is the responsibility of our arena expression. I don’t think many people who enter the profession realize this and that is a true tragedy for the writer as well as the reader. Thanks Dhyan, for coming in one door and opening another before you leave. 🙂

Leave a Reply

