Jumpsies

elastics tied end on end in rainbow colours

a kid with freckles on her nose and her toes

her flip flops flip flopped to my door

rubber band sisters joined and dangling from her dirty hand

An invitation is extended

An invitation is accepted

A little brother is elected

to hold the other end

first the ankle then the knee

the hip the waist and armpit

the shoulder was the challenge

I could never clear

never jump high enough to cross that barrier that daunted me

and left me on the wrong side full of disgust

until I realized that elastic bends

and so does life

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

8 thoughts on “Jumpsies”

  1. Val – This is amazing, exhilarating to read and full of wonder as seen through the eyes of childhood.

    You have a brilliant way of writing poetry in a free flowing rhythm that looks and ‘sounds’ natural, warm, full of heart. When I read your poems I feel as if I am there, seeing things through your eyes. What a gift you have! – the ability to reach out and draw us all in with your marvelous narrative. In this lovely poem I can’t single out a favorite line because the entire poem is brilliant but I also loved …

    “her flip flops flip flopped to my door

    rubber band sisters joined and dangling from her dirty hand ”

    Wow! again and again and again! I’m here with you on your page following all you write, all the time. Guess this means I am totally hooked on your amazing writing.

    John
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank You John, memories of childhood are great material for me, as I had a very unconventional family and difficult life. Someone getting hooked on the writing is what every writer wants to hear, just don’t be Kathy Bates in Misery okay? lol Seriously, that girl is now somewhere out there, doing god knows what and probably something we don’t want to know about, but she is now immortalized and that makes me feel good because she is important too and recalled with fondness.

    1. Hey B, thanks…this is more me, kinda green and sloppy, no pretense and the frames support larger versions of my photos! I’m going to do a youtube thing soon, so keep an eye out. I guarantee it will be ridiculous and I’ll post them on here.

  2. ya know, i’d cut the last line but if i still had shape of a box i’d totally publish this one..just without the last line ๐Ÿ™‚

    next you have to write about some other poor kid fun like crack the whip. ..or wait, was that just my poor kid life?

    1. That is very lovely of you to say but jaysus girl, I liked that last line the best. It had just the right amount of cheese to fuck it up lol ๐Ÿ˜‰ Crack the whip when I was a kid was getting a lickin’ or a crack and it usually involved a switch off the tree or a belt. Definitely a poor kid’s life. I did however like double dutch and monkey bars.

    1. That is exactly what it is about kseverny. There are some things in childhood that are the metaphors for our flaws and fears in adulthood, this was one of mine. Rich kids had hurdles, poor kids had jumpsie ropes lol

Leave a Reply

