The Aisle of Tragic Wonders

Plastic and broadly smiling  Buddha sat beside

a scowling squatting glassy frog in gawdy greens and yellows

precariously balanced on the edge near the feet

of plastic glow in the dark Jesus who was gazing stoicly

at the hood mounted hula dancer who jiggled and wiggled

in the direction of his mother Mary who was busy piously being right

beside the footprints in the sand that leads to

ceramic cardinals, masked and flame red with careless paint jobs bleeding into

the stump on which they sit so still you could almost

hear the giant Archangel Michael blow his resin trumpet into the ear

of a lucky elephant with a blue and white striped circus ball poised gracefully on his trunk directly in front

of the woman with the brassy blonde blues and shocking pink nails who is

poking the buttons on the machine and fake grinning until it hurts her pride more than her face as she thinks sourly

“I hate this fucking job.”

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

25 thoughts on “The Aisle of Tragic Wonders”

    1. Hey Brad, my good CanAussie friend! It’s good to see you and thank you for liking this poem. After reading your last post on your blog, I truly hope you are heading toward taking your writing seriously and publishing or submitting. Much of your writing is very profound and valuable.

  1. 😀 I wish I could hear you LOL. I wouldn’t ever wish to see you change in any way,Val. Since I met you it’s been a total privilege and I’ve learnt so much from you. You have a passion for writing and you are a hotblooded rootin tootin poet and I love all of your attitude. You are very cool and it’s my good fortune that I found your blog too. Thank you for visiting me. It’s such a pleasure to get feedback from someone I respect and admire. I’m glad you like my output… and by now you will already know I love your blog. 😀 I’ll be thanking you for your comments over at my pages as soon as I’ve had some shuteye. On this side of the atlantic it’s nigh on midnight and getting towards Sunday. So I better sleep now. But I’ll be responding to you and to Jaime – lovely writer and poet too – and anyone else who has left a comment, when I’m awake again manana por la manana. Duerme bien, Val mi amiga especial 😀 nighty night dear friend Val 🙂
    John

    1. Yes absurdistry, that thought has crossed the mind of every human being who has been that rat on a treadmill. I am currently in such a situation and I must mumbled it to myself ten times a day. Thanks for visiting and leaving your words. 🙂

      1. Val, I experience a whole lot of delight, and much joy in reading what you write, dear friend. The depth and breadth of your writing is awesome! You inspire and educate and inform.. and you entertain too… the use of that good ol’ anglo-saxon cuss has me chuckling with admiration. It’s a great expression to have ready if/when things are either temporarily dried up or the thought-well is pumping but the darn creativity-stream is stuck. I love your expressive commentary! It’s so real, and so full of life! 😀

        – John 🙂

      2. If you liked that cuss John, you should hear me daily lol I’ve been cursing since I was a kid so it’s highly unlikely I’ll change at forty seven. As for the content of what I submit you poor readers to on a regular basis, it’s all from a true place and if you can’t bleed for others then the blood spilled is a waste. I learn from all of you who I visit if not daily then at least twice a week. I read, I listen, I learn and hopefully I grow as a human being and if I can repay that equally with my words, then hot damn I’m happy! You are cool John and finding your blog was such good fortune creatively. Thank you for your poetry/photographs and visits to my blog. 🙂

  2. Thank you Bryan dahlink, Mother Mary and I spent many hours together reciting the rosary for all those poor bastards in pergatory, in addition to my own hell bound soul. Now, her son glows in the dark and she just stares off into thin air at the dollar store. Who could have guessed they would both end up on the shelf. 😉

    1. Thank you Jessie, but as you will notice, I still have to tell a fucking story. I’m beginning to think I have some sort of serious fiction fixation disorder. I start out being abstract and poetic and before you know it, there I am bringing people into it, animals, knick knacks and every other damn thing. But hey, at least I didn’t give in to my need to make it rhyme! lol

  3. Val…oh how you link figurines with the same ease you create a lovely story with an ending I adore.

    Especially liked the line: fake grinning until it hurts her pride more than her face

    Good stuff.

    1. Hey ML, I’ve had to do that grin a lot, in fact I had to do it three times this week Thank you for seeing that line over the others, because she and Buddha smile for different reasons. 😉

  4. I enjoyed this a lot. It reminds me of Dolores Hayden’s “Grave Goods,” particularly in the way that you give life to the inanimate. Very impressive!

    1. I’m completely flattered Tel that you would think anything I write is even remotely similar to Ms. Hayden’s work. Wow! Thank you so much. 🙂

  5. I love this fucking poem!!!
    Period!
    My new fave of yours..
    Too many great lines to comment on..The last line?
    Well you were just showing off at that point…

    1. B, thank you, I love that you loved this. I must confess though, whenever I get bunged up creatively, the use of the word fuck always gets the train moving up the track. lol Me? Show off? NEVER! lol

    1. Dear gawd, no kseverny lol my desk is my couch, craptop placed precariously on my knee. lol Thank you for liking my writing block homage to the dollar store. Man, I love the dollar store and that broad is real, she works at The Great Canadian Dollar Store in town. Poor bugger she has as worse job than I do.

  6. I like this poem, great descriptions, I felt I was in the shop looking around.

    I like the new theme, it’s different in all good ways.

    1. Thanks Mark, this is what Val’s writer’s block looks like lol Good God, it’s like we’ve all be infected with some sort of idea killing bacteria. Tonight we’re having a snow storm lets hope it inspires some good old fashioned dark verse. Once upon a midnight snowy, as the wind was cold and blowy…lol

Leave a Reply

