Some Little Ditties From The Dark Side

NINE LIVES

We cheated it twice together

We cheated it twice apart

You cheated it five times solo

Then you broke my heart

KNICK KNOCK

Knicky knicky nine doors

A game we used to play

They called us little bastards

Then we ran away

THE FIRST TO LEAVE

You smoked the weed

and drank the wine

Then you announced

You were out of time

TURNING POINT

Something shattered

Deep inside

The day you swallowed

All your pride

THE LAST SONG

Picks and pedals

Strings and frets

Constant jam

Eternal sets

NURTURED

Consumed

Condemned

Conditioned

Confined

To make a noose with bits of twine

THIORIDAZINE

Doctor prescribes a happy hug

Anti psychotic tranquilizer

Vastly better mood stabilizer

Essentially a zombie drug

TRIP TO TOWER TEN

PCP was a speeding train

It ran all night inside your brain

Made you feel crucified

Straight jacket drug induced suicide

UNDER THE SOD

Dust to dust

Ashes to ashes

Everyone mourns

A angel who crashes

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

17 thoughts on “Some Little Ditties From The Dark Side”

  1. Aw shucks Bryan, that is a very sweet thing to say but also very true. I’m a chameleon in art and life and no one will ever pin me down. šŸ˜‰ I’m a mystery even to myself sweetie. hugs

  2. i’m also a fan of Knick Knock. You ever thought of putting together a play off nursery rhymes and such? I think of roald dahl’s “Revolting Rhymes” which is still one of my favorites!

    1. I’ve never thought of it Jessie, but if I did then what would I do with it? Roald Dahl was brilliant and did you know he once stayed for a summer on this island of Newfoundland where I now live? He did, when he was eighteen and in fact for a three week expedition, instead of going to university. Perhaps I will write some more and put them together in a little book. I’ve been thinking of hand making some tiny books for fun but what I will do with them once they’re done is another matter. They will be dust collectors I guess. šŸ™‚

  3. Val, you took me all over the poetry spectrum with this little works – from the craft of the Beat poets and confessionals to the whimsy of rhyme in Lewis Carroll and Elizabethan nursery rhymes. What a trip, literally and figuratively! Knick Knock or Under the Sod? I can’t tell which is my favorite.

    1. I like to fart around with different styles and see what happens. Mostly Tel, I just let it flow and dear god this is what happens lol I subject you wonderful people to some very peculiar writing experiments and when they don’t work I always know because there is such SILENCE. Thank you for liking those two, you and Jessie liked exactly the verse that was fun to write, Knick Knock. šŸ™‚

  4. Knick Knock is my favorite.
    I am a sucker for anything 9 lives.
    I should not like nurtured so much.
    Trip to Tower Ten is scary good.
    Under the sod is cool.

    Thanks for these

    1. As I said to Jessie and Tel, Knick Knock was my favourite too opoetoo and tower ten was scary as it is a real place and my late husband spent time there under frightening circumstances. I nearly didn’t put up Under The Sod, but as that is how it ends, it was right. Thank you for liking this trip I took and coming along too. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

