I read a poem called Clean Sweep, over at opoetoo’s blog and it inspired me to write this verse.

SOLID STATE

A gray groove on a sound wave

ooh ooh child things are gonna get easier

on the stair steps to Motown heaven

under the covers earphone in

The Staples take me there

Detroit’s soul ignites a giddy storm inside

At nine I’m drunk on the melody that smokey brings

as wonderful Stevie sings

a bangin piano

a thrummin bass

makes my bones loose

the Supreme note by note map

to somewhere

that isn’t housing project nowhere

swimming in the liquid world

on my solid state radio

portable if you please

Cause we are going places

When Marvin sings the blues

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

15 thoughts on “”

  1. It causes me that too. Beautifull poem val, you know that I been listening to that kind of music lately too, it also makes me fly.
    Hugs and keep writting beautifull poetry

    1. Hi Mariana, thank you sweetie and yes it does make you feel like flying. Sometimes music is the only refuge of the lonely and medicine for the sad. That music and a stack of books saved my life as a kid, no fooling, that is true. You’ve been missed and I send hugs that you are feeling better. HUGS

      1. I trully belive they saved your life, I feel something like that too, at least in mine, dough, I guess I would have survived anyway. Or maybe start taking drugs earlier, who knows. But remember: “el que rΓ­e y canta, sus males espanta” means the one who laughs and signs its (problems/bad things/hurdless) repells/makes them go away.
        Sorry for the bad translation.

      2. Thank you Mariana and your words translated well enough for me to know that what you say is the truth and a wise way to live. Without humour, life is indeed unbearable. HUGS my dear friend πŸ™‚

    1. Yes Jessie, do it! Post your Bon Jovi poem, I would love to read it girl! My gawd but that man had some fine eighties hair! Oh, and a killer smile too. πŸ™‚

  2. Good morning, Val:

    what beautiful mood you bring to us,
    Just find out that Paul and you are husband and wife,
    perfect match,
    both write cool stuff,
    you two should have told rest of us this so,

    thank you for being smart and nice..

    Have A Day As Promising As Your Writing Career AND Family,,,

    cheers, πŸ˜‰
    jingle

    1. Thanks Mark, for posting your wonderful poem and the link to a song memory. It made me recall something good from the past.

    1. No, they certainly don’t write them like that anymore. I lived in a low income housing project in Toronto during the 1970’s, and my cheap little solid state radio picked up music that was in many ways a spiritual food for me. I lived for those evenings when I could fly away from the misery of my childhood on the wings of a song sent to me by some angels at Motown. I’m so happy you liked this Tel. πŸ™‚ hugs

Leave a Reply

