Life Is Just A Cleeshay away…misspelling intentional. ;)

Nothing has ever resonated with me

in a visceral interpretive way

I’ve never taken the road less travelled

or connected the dots

I don’t do the math

or colour outside the lines

My inner child has grown up

without ever thinking outside the box

I think I once knew someone who experienced a steep learning curve

but I quickly realized this wouldn’t be a win win situation

just a very teachable moment

that was old school in an organic sort of way

Life’s like that though

when going green is the new  blue,  it just pops doesn’t it?

Back in the day we approached this in a go forward fashion

Because basically, it was a no brainer

of epic proportions that really spoke to the issues

created by a deluded non partisan group

somewhere on mainstreet

the wordsmith

would have been thrown under the bus

after throwing the baby out with the bath water

if not for the light bulb moment

that altered my mental geography forever

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

26 thoughts on “Life Is Just A Cleeshay away…misspelling intentional. ;)”

  1. Val, this is great! Reading all the cliches you used made me stop and think about how ideas are perpetuated through speech, by everyone – from the street cleaner to the president. Really liked the reference to “mental geography” – isn’t that so true? The layouts of our minds, conditioned by words.

    1. Thanks Janine, it’s good to have you visit and comment on my tiny writing experiments 🙂 I agree, the more we repeat a turn of phrase, the more it becomes a cheesy part of popular culture, but I think the worst offender is advertising. One commercial can take an urban phrase for example and convert it into a cliché as soon as it is used to sell a product. Thank you for enjoying it!

    1. Hi The Beaty, thank you for appreciating my typos! I’ve been over to your blog and it’s fascinating stuff, interesting and quirky. Very arty and you inspire me to be brave enough to post a cartoon I did. 🙂 I hope you come back!

    1. Oh nooooooooooo Bryan dahlink, NEVER air quotes lol I had a grade seven teacher, Mrs. Hoad (we called her Mrs. Toad) who did finger air quotes to death and the wart on her upper lip used to wiggle when she bent those fingers and smirked at the same time. She was an ex hippie/catholic school teacher, need I say more? No, that’s probably too much info now lol I’m happy it made you laugh, now go my son and resonate no more!

    1. I agree William, they are used a lot. Some are good but after overuse they sound ridiculous. Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  2. I wish I didnt enjoy things like this so much.
    It is very “over the top” and it really “takes me there”.
    It is really is amazing.

    1. Sadly kseverny, my entire life could be classified as one long life lesson cliché, from which I can extricate these wonderful gems from time to time. Yes, you are indeed correct, there is not getting past me. lol Thanks for enjoying this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

