This Evening Guess What? Yes, I was looking Up Again!

I just love it when the sun peeks at me before it dips beneath the horizon, before plunging us into darkness and taking it's gift of daylight to the other side of the world...to our Aussie friends! 😉
Of course, when it departs, the sun leaves behind a visual reminder of it's fire power, in flaming orange and yellow

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

13 thoughts on “This Evening Guess What? Yes, I was looking Up Again!”

  1. always love your pics Val 🙂
    I could take a million sunrise or sunset photos becuase they just feel so peaceful. Something about transitional and crepuscular time!

    1. Thanks William, I wish I was good at everything! It pleases me that you liked these photos, as I tend to post pictures that could bore people. I get photographic obsessions and I keep taking them until I run out. Last year it was roads that lead nowhere and graveyards. lol When spring comes it will be icebergs again! 🙂

  2. Wow! these are beautiful Val.
    I agree with Tel about the ‘best time’, as regards sunrise/sunset. These times rank among my favorite moments to catch what is happening. Thanks for sharing these lovely sights in your photos! My ‘favorites’ are the top photo and the shooting star one.

    1. Hi PoetTraveler, you take some damn fine photos yourself my friend! Thanks for liking the sky on this side of the world. 🙂

  3. You know, Val, photographers always say the best time to photograph outdoor subjects is either right before or right after sunrise/sunset. The lighting is perfect, they say, and everything is shown in its true form. I think your photos speak to that.

    1. Tel, there is also something about the way it makes you feel and I think you notice more at those periods of the day. Some elders on the rez used to say that it’s a sacred time when the spirits can be seen and felt by humans and animals and I believe that to be true.

      1. That would explain why I’m awakened by turkeys every morning just before the sun rises. They are some loud creatures…

  4. You must have a quality camera,
    or you are professional photographer?

    I can see the shooting star in the last photo,
    how amazing it is!

    Top Post,
    Beautiful Nature Views.

    1. I’m not a professional Jingle, although I’ve had my photos published in a magazine. Hmm, I guess that makes me a professional! LOL I just mess around with it and if I see something that I find beautiful or in need of recording and sharing, I photograph it. I used a Canon powershot A1000 IS digital. It’s a neat little camera and I think it meets my needs. I’m so thrilled you liked the images! The last one is my favourite too but that shooting star is really a jet stream and when I took it I thought it would appear the way you described it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

