Just A Few Words About…

Ed.  We met when I was thirteen and I’ve adored him ever since.  I introduced him to my daughter last year and she loves him too.  Ed is a peculiar sort of guy, he is very reclusive and some people find him depressing to be around but there is no doubt that he has a certain point of view that is hard to ignore.  I admit, he is very pessimistic, but he is damn entertaining at times.  Therefore,  I want to wish Ed a very happy birthday, most especially this year,  because his good friend who has been dropping by with half a bottle of cognac and three lovely roses since 1949,  didn’t show.

HAPPY 201st BIRTHDAY ED!




Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

30 thoughts on “Just A Few Words About…”

  1. Actually Bryan, Oscar, Ed and I are very close pals, but my heart will always belong to Mr. Shelley because he and the divine Ms. V see the world with the same pair of eyes. 🙂

    1. I always notice typos John, but I NEVER correct anyone. It’s the height of bad manners and it sets the critic up for suffering the same typo fate. lol None of us needs that much scrutiny from other writers because lord knows we will surely get it from agents and editors.

      1. Val, my little second rhyme about typos was a playful poke at myself for my own mistake. .lol.

        Val, I’m still trying to find my way in this community and a little nervous about upsetting others through carelessness or mistakes that would, or might, give unintended offense.

        I am very much on side with your sentiments regarding bad manners, setting the critic up for suffering and so on, as well as being in complete agreement with your thoughts and your attitude apropos “level playing field” (my words), and respect for women and gender equality. As regards agents and editors – you are right of course.

      2. Hi John, I’ve done the entire writing tour: critiquing groups, reading groups, brainstorming story writing groups, I’ve had every coffee one can have when sitting in a room with other writers and I’ve watched bones being cleaned by some very large green fangs, mostly worn by writers who should have behaved better. Now, I’m doing this all online and to be honest, this is better. It’s more about the work than who you know, what you are wearing or whether you are as witty in person as you are on the page ( few writers are ) and those who are pithy in person are usually too self absorbed to relate to another artist anyway. Most writers I visit online make mistakes in grammar and spelling a great deal and oddly, those who do it on regular basis are usually eager to find fault in others. Me? I ignore that nonsense because it is the content and style that matters. The other stuff can be fixed, but you can’t fix lack of talent and depth.

  2. hi jessicarty – hi val …

    i’ve never looked at poetry
    as being writ by gender type
    and i agree it’s just plain wrong
    to make distinction (make a hype)
    the poems springs from human mind
    and we’re all part of humankind.
    🙂

    1. At some point John, this world will have to change or we will all perish and it all starts with respect for women and gender equality. Thanks for seeing it through the lens of equality.

      1. Val, I regard all writing on its merit. When I read something – particularly in the field of poetry – it’s the creative expression(s) that reaches to me, it’s the poem that touches my senses. I’ve been reading widely for a long time now. Over this time I have enjoyed, gained much pleasure, from what I have read. It matters not to me whether the writer is male or female – but it does matter to me that there is a ‘level playing field’. The lens of equality is, shamefully, obscured by those who impede the road to progress and never give respect for women and gender equality in the field of literature, writing and in all other things.

        Best wishes.

  3. i think because i found Poe earlier in life and because of the sheer force and rhythm of his work, i find him on a very visceral and emotional level.

    plath just makes me sad because not only are her poems often morose but when you know how young she was when she died it makes the lost of her gift bubble up to the top.

    i still remember going to a performing arts center on a school trip (we had to drive an hour cause we were in the boonies!) to see interpretations of stories and this group did the most amazing version of “Fall of the House of Usher”. I had shivers!

    1. I think Plath is a must read for all young women, simply because of her experiences in a male dominated profession, writing. Most people don’t want to admit it Jessie, but this business is still not as ‘equal’ as we would like. J.K. Rowling deliberately left her name ambiguous because her publishers told her to. Specifically, they said the ‘boys’ wouldn’t buy a book about a male protagonist if it was written by a woman. Not much has changed eh? When I heard her say this I was completely disgusted and I’ve disliked her ever since. 🙂 Poe is and always will be the master of the macabre and of course he was the biggest drunk on the block lol

      1. No, it still isn’t an equal business. The fact that many men still refer to “women’s poetry” if a woman is writing about family but does not do the same for “men’s poetry” when they are writing about paternity etc shows the bias still exists.

        Ya know, I don’t really blame JK Rowling for what she did initially with the books but it would be nice to see her but her whole name on the books now that she is all uber famous!

      2. Yes Jessie, things have moved at a break neck speed toward social growth for the genders since the days of George Elliot. 😉 Well, it never hurt our dear Agatha Christie as I’m certain Agatha could never be construed as anything male. lol J.K. Rowling should hang her head in shame, and rich as she is, she knows it. Of course, it hasn’t stopped her from trying to be politically correct ever since to make up for it, but basically you can’t slap a band aid on that sexist cancer no way no how.

  4. Hi Val – re part of your kind reply … “If I had to choose, I’d say Plath was more gifted, but Poe was less brittle and more accessible to a greater number of people. Thanks John for popping in to wish Ed a happy birthday!” ….

    I have to differ with you a little here….but not by much! lol 🙂
    Plath didn’t live long enough to fulfill her potential, but had she lived she would have outshone her husband and I think he must have been aware of her greater ability. She was deeply gifted in the usage of metaphor.

    Ed remains my favourite because of his mastery, his power, of the rhyming meter and powerful narrative, although of course it’s not too easy to make a direct comparison between Ed and Sylvia because of their very different styles. The one thing they seem to have in common is a tendency to write ‘darkly’ – but even on this point I reckon Mr Ed was a tad ahead in depressive verse.

    I wrote a poem about Sylvia and her oven. I’ll post it soon and hope you’ll drop by to read it.

    Thanks Val,
    John.
    – poet standing in the shadows of Ed & Sylvia 🙂

    1. If you post it John, I will definitely read it. I think Plath and Hemingway affected me the most as a writer because they had the ability to translate complex emotions in simple language. To me, the ability to use little to explain a lot is the true genius of a writer and it forces an artist to dig deeper and to be more honest. You are also very correct with regard to Plath’s use of metaphor. No one can touch her, even now. Ed, darkness and rhyme, a trio made in one helluva heaven. 🙂

    1. First cats, now chairs. Okay Dhyan, but Poe wasn’t just depressing, he was tragic and depressing, all the things I love in life.

  5. i confess. i dont know ed.
    Just that he was a legendary writer.
    unfortunately in order to find time to read his work would mean “goodbye”.
    So curiosity wont be killing this cat. lol

  6. I was fortunate to get acquainted with Poe while living in Baltimore, and this tradition was always a big to do. It’s unfortunate and, also, somewhat sad…

  7. I’m very fond of Ed too. We met when I was maybe a little older than you were when you and he started going steady 🙂 His style and command of language in poetry is awesome. I’ve paraphrased his poem “The Raven” on more than one occasion. I had a tiring time a couple of years ago online, after being at the top of my list for several years, and ended up by taking a sabbatical. But Writing for me is a powerful attraction and so I eventually came back, to the place where I had stopped and I restarted my online quill again and wrote about it in true Poe-sian style, in a poem that ran like-for-like – a la The Raven.

    HAPPY 201st BIRTHDAY ED! from me too.

    … and thanks dear Val for posting about him.

    – John,
    PoetTraveler

    1. Poe is, without a doubt, the finest gothic poet and his work is very affecting. For me, it’s toss up between Poe and Plath when it comes to reading verse that plunges me into the deep end of the depression pool. If I had to choose, I’d say Plath was more gifted, but Poe was less brittle and more accessible to a greater number of people. Thanks John for popping in to wish Ed a happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

