I Am

I’m still here, another minute, hour, day

a throbbing pulsing mass of crushed bone and flesh

exposed to filth that lives beneath a crumbled past

clinging to the pipe that protrudes from my thigh

slowly spilling a blood  river into what used to be my home

a red tributary snake sliding around the debris of my life

last night I heard the wild machete boys poking around in the misery

threatening the corpses, marauding and debasing their souls

But that is past, now there is a new light emerging from the blind dark time

Today they may find me and save the baby who is still living in my womb

The baby who is trying to be born

The baby I have named Felice

Author: valo

I am a poet, writer and activist with a special interest in human rights for children and women as well as the elimination of poverty worldwide. If you read this today, feed someone locally for me will you? Drop off a non perishable food item at the food bank nearest you and consider yourself hugged. Thank you!

19 thoughts on “I Am”

    1. I understand this woman Kevin, because I wrote it mostly from experiences I’ve had. There is a basic understanding between people who have lived through the desperation of the in between space of life and death that crosses every border, race and gender. When I wrote this, something else was going on in a spiritual way and although I can’t prove it, this woman is real and alive. Thank you for seeing the truth in this.

  1. i can’t seem to write anything about haiti yet, but I always find i have to wait a while to write about tragedy. those last two lines, Val, seem to be a story waiting to happen!

    1. I know what you mean Jessie, I often need to simmer the emotions and thoughts for a while, but this was there waiting for me to tell it. You never know Jessie, those last two lines could very well be about a real woman they have yet to find in the rubble.

  2. Wow. Simply, WOW! Two lives trapped in one, the fear of machete marauders, the pipe, the blood. I need a happy ending but I know there probably won’t be one.

    1. Mark, I’m very flattered by your response to this, thank you. I wish there could be a happy ending too but in this very real and tragic world the most we can ever hope for is the continuance of life and the validation that love is alive and evident in the actions of people like us who will reach down into that rubble and save a life.

  3. Strong, strong, strong. This is Divine at its best. The line “last night I heard the wild machete boys poking around in the misery” is so moving, vivid, scary. This is your style, Val. Your soul aches for social justice and all that is right. You are one of the few writers I know who can pull off something at this level and of this scale and magnitude.

    1. Thank you Darling Bryan, but mostly, thank you for being moved enough to help. In the end, that is all that really matters. Thank you for tweeting me, perhaps for those who haven’t given, this will be the catalyst to make it happen. I remember only too well how it feels to have an empty belly and to be the 3 H’s: Helpless, Homeless and Hopeless. I don’t want anyone to feel this, particularly children. This is a horror story unfolding as we type on this machine. HUGS to my darling Bry from his Divine Ms. V 🙂

    1. Exactly Tel, it is all about life and the lives we are all going to save. HUGS 🙂 I said it on your blog, but I absolutely adored your verse about Haiti, merci mon amis.

    1. Hey kseverny, nice to see you again! Thank you for seeing the difficulty of tackling this subject matter. It’s tough to write about the grit and misery without exploitive language sneaking in and making it too graphic and more about gore than human experience. I tried to keep it concise and written from the point of view of a haitian trapped there, so there is more meaning and authenticity to the words. I’m sure it is a pinpoint of hell that only this person in this situation could truly convey. If you all think this worked, then I’m pleased. Now, I need to go look at your stunning display of damn tasty food on your blog!

  4. beauuuuuuuuuuutiful poem Val, loved the imagery, you are my dear a fantastic writer, we are lucky… please pop over when u have time to read my poem,, HAITI WHY US, thanks and have a superb glowing day xx

    1. Thank you William, and you too are a wonderful writer. I’m so happy you are now part of this fantastic group of creators I’ve been so damn fortunate know. I’m on my way over there now! 🙂

  5. Wow Val. The visual imagery you weave through this is amazing. I couldn’t stop reading it. Even though the subject matter is less than beautiful the optimism you inject into it pulls you through to the end.

    A wonderful piece of writing.

    1. Thank you Paul, I just hope it makes someone send aid to Haiti. Out of death comes life…always. There are situations happening this very minute that most people cannot possibly relate to but hopefully will find painful enough to move them to help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

